Singing with the Angels

Feb. 12, 2006 – Singing With The Angels

My Uncle Tom died this week — on Wednesday afternoon.  After I told the children, Isaac asked me if Uncle Tom was in Heaven and all I could do was tell him I didn’t know.  But after hearing my Uncle’s minister, I believe he is singing with the angels.  The children were asleep when I got home last night; but, I can’t wait to tell them.  It was also wonderful to hear my favorite Uncle say prayer for the meal we ate together.  To give you a point of reference, when my brother and I were growing up, one of our weekend “jobs” was to run beer to my Uncle Chip and Dad while they were working around my Uncle’s property. 

 

Uncle Tom was one of 6 siblings to my Daddy, the 3rd from the oldest.  He was also the first blood relative of the immediate family to leave since my Grandma died 20 years ago.  Amazingly enough we have had very few tragedies in our family.  This was the 3rd funeral since my Grandma’s death  (Inteteresting to note that one of those funerals was his first wife, and it was 6 months after Grandma died)  With 7 siblings, you can imagine the big family we have.  One of my cousins and I started counting at the funeral and stopped at about 50.  That’s not including the long, lost relatives.  Only my Aunt  (yes only one–she calls herself the “favorite sister” and so do the brothers.  She’s also the oldest.) Uncles, cousins and all of their children.  I think we have truly been blessed. 

 

I flew to Atlanta from Kansas City Friday afternoon and returned last night–about 36 hours in all.  I debated going for such a short trip, I thought it was kind of silly.  But I’m so glad I did.  It was good to see everyone and to be there with the family.  Daddy had frequent flyer miles, so the trip was inexpensive — I probably would not have considered it if  those miles had not been available.  Ironically when Dad had his surgery in January, he tried to get Shane to fly down and drive back with me, but with the dogs and chickens, we couldn’t figure out a way to make it work. God’s divine providence never ceases to amaze me.  He knew I would need those miles, and he prevented Shane from being able to use them. 

 

Please pray for my family.  For Uncle Tom’s second wife (they were only married 3 years).  She is a precious lady, for his children, they have no living parents now, and for the rest of the family.

 

Have a wonderful Lord’s day.  Thank God for that “Blessed Assurance” because Jesus was willing and able to die for our sins on the cross and to be raised up and sits at the right hand of the Father this day and every day forever and ever. 

 

 

 

Post A Comment!

Comments

Feb. 13, 2006 – Untitled Comment

So glad he was reportedly a saved man! Praise God!

You’re right: your very large family is a tremendous blessing! May all of God’s children be similarly blessed! (Gen. 24:60)

Many continued blessings to you and your family,
Christi

