Again…

Feb. 14, 2006 – Again…

For the 2nd time in less than a week, I have lost someone I love.  Last night, my Mom called and told me that her best friend of 30 years, Patsy, had passed away yesterday afternoon.  She was 58 years old and was just diagnosed with liver cancer on Christmas Eve; a few days later they found it had spread to her brain.  We knew she wouldn’t be with us much longer, but no one expected it to go this quickly.  Thanks be to God, she was a professing Christian.  (It had not always been that way–in both of our “previous lives”, we had been known to run into each other out and about  during our weekend carousing.) 

 

Patsy had a heart of gold.  A year and a half ago when my Grandma died. she gave me a baby quilt that she had asked my Grandma to make for her yet to be grandchild.  (Patsy’s only child, still hasn’t married, and has no children at this time).  You see by the time Malachi came along my Grandma was not able to make a quilt for him.  She did get to meet Malachi and adored him.  Patsy decided to sacrifice her precious gift from my Grandma, for my little boy.  In the quilt’s place, she has a cross-stich that my Grandma did many years ago.  When I was there in January she told me she wasn’t ready to give it back– and I’m not ready to have it. 

 

I would never in a million years wish my Dad to go through open heart surgery again, but among that tragedy I got to see my precious friend after her diagnosis and before she got really sick.  I can still hear her sweet, southern voice and know that she is singing praises to the Almight with my Uncle, and the Angels this very morning. 

 

Please pray for her family, especially her daughter, Beth.

