It’s No Surprise to God

Feb. 16, 2006 – It’s no surprise to God

Hubby was telling me yesterday about one of his customers.  It was a couple that owns a small old-fashioned Christian bookstore.  On Christmas, the husband got very ill and entered the hospital.  New Years day he went to be with the Lord.  (I think I have that right).  One day he was fine, the next day he was deathly ill and the next week, he was with the Lord. 

 

Shane talked to his wife yesterday for the first time since he died.  He asked how she was doing.  Her response touched me when he related it to me.  She said that it has been hard, but she takes comfort knowing that even though it was a surprise to her, her husband’s illness and death was no surprise to God.  I’m not a very deep thinker, but I think this is a profound statement. 

 

Nothing is a surprise to God.

 

Not only is God in control.  But he knows what is going to happen BEFORE it  happens.  So when the car breaks down, when a young person dies in a tragedy, when a job is lost, when… not only is he in control after the fact.  But he knew it would happen before it happened.  In fact, He ordained it.  EVERYTHING that happens is in his plan.  Jeremiah 29:11 says For I know the plans I have for you, says the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Job finally realized it.  “I know that thou canst do all things, and that no purpose of thine can be thwarted. ” 42:2 (the NIV says “no plan can be thwarted”).

He has created every person from the beginning of time.  Adam from the dust of the ground.  Eve from Adam.  And each of us in our mother’s womb.  If He has created every part of us, shouldn’t we realize that nothing is a surprise to God? 

