Life’s Purpose

The “Purpose Driven ______ ” has been thrown around alot recently.  Rick Waren's popularization of the phrase has become the newest pop-psychology of the church.  What's your purpose?  Several churches have studied “The Purpose Driven Life”  Personally I think it's great for a new believer, but there's not much meat.  


 


We have been studying the “Reformed” doctrine lately.  Now, I'm not much of a deep thinker.  I leave that job to my beloved husband.  But as I study the Reformed view I find myself delving into deeper thoughts.  A few weeks ago, I was listening to a CD from Vision Forum.  R.C. Jr.  quoted from the Westminster Catechism 


 


“the chief end of man is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.” 


 


This is life's purpose.  Amazingly, I do not recall ever hearing this before.  But I believe this wraps up our life's purpose in a nutshell.  Everything we do should glorify God.  And if we do this, we will enjoy him forever.  If we aren't glorifying God, then our life is usually a wreck and we will not enjoy him now, nor will we enjoy him forever.


 


I was talking with a friend yesterday.  Telling her that we had been studying reformed doctrine.  Imagine my surprise when we simultaniously said “and it just makes sense”  You may not agree.  You may not have studied it before, I sure hadn't and didn't even know there was a difference in what Calvin, and Wesley believed.  Is this a salvation issue?  I don't believe so.  But if you ask me, it just makes sense.

One thought on “Life’s Purpose

  1. WOW! I have REALLY enjoyed your blog~LOVE that catechism, YES~not much meat in Purpose, LOVE Vision Forum, I have biracial children (from our biracial marriage), and I could just gush on and on! Y’all have sooo much going on~I’ll be SURE to check back and add you to our prayer list! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

    Like

Comments are closed.