Still Learning How to Trust in Him

I may have mentioned this before, but since I can't remember, I'll mention it again. 


For many, many years, I could not gleen wisdom from Elisabeth Elliot.  I don't know why–I'm sure it was the place I was in my Christian walk.  That was during the same time period when I didn't like the Proverbs 31 woman either.  But during the last couple of months, I have gleaned some bit of wisdom out of almost every devotional that I have read.  Today, I read the following sentance. 


 


“The demand to know where we are going is one which no Christian has a right to make.”


 


It is a quote that I need to remember!!!  Bishop Leslie Newbigin made it in India in 1947 after the union of the churches there (beats me, but some of you may have an idea what Mrs. Elliot is speaking of). 


 


Oh how many times in the past 3 years I have asked, “where are you taking us”?   I don't believe I have demanded to know–but even asking is something I'm not sure I should be doing. 


With church (the town where he moved us 2 years ago has no church of our denomination in at least a 15 mile radius.  He is growing us, but to find a Reformed church of any denomination is even more difficult than to find a “Church of Christ”


 


Adopting again, I was planning on contacting “Children Concerned” last week to move forward on a Liberian adoption, when we got a call from our social worker with a possible birthmother.  Apparently, bm didn't like the homeschooling or living in the country part of our life.  Go figure.    He had us update our homestudy in January… we're excited and waiting, we've had disappointment 3 times now.  Oh, this is all part of the adoption process, but the children are older and they understand the disappointment more now.  I could handle it much easier if it wasn't for them. 


 


With my children, but especially my oldest boy.  Some days I'm not sure that the training we're giving them is sinking in at all.  Things go all nuts and we're all frustrated over silly little stupid things.  Then other days, I have little angels in my house.  All precious and sweet, helpful and kind to one another. 


 


Mrs. Elliot is right.  It is like the Shepherd with His sheep.  The sheep have no idea where they are going, they don't need to know where they are going–they just trust the shepherd to take them where they need to be.  The sheep know that they will be taken care of.  I on the other hand have to second guess his instructions many more times than not, or so it seems.   I am one of those that likes to know where I am going, and what time I'm going to get there.  It's ingrained in me.  If only I, as the Great Sheperd's little “dumb” sheep, would  learn to trust in Him more often and myself less often.


 


Isa 43
“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;I have summoned you by name; you are mine. 2 When you pass through the waters,I will be with you;and when you pass through the rivers,they will not sweep over you.When you walk through the fire,you will not be burned;the flames will not set you ablaze. 3 For I am the LORD, your God,the Holy One of Israel, your Savior;I give Egypt for your ransom,Cush and Seba in your stead. 4 Since you are precious and honored in my sight,and because I love you,I will give men in exchange for you,and people in exchange for your life. 5 Do not be afraid, for I am with you;I will bring your children from the east and gather you from the west. 6 I will say to the north, 'Give them up!'and to the south, 'Do not hold them back.'Bring my sons from afar and my daughters from the ends of the earth —  7 everyone who is called by my name,whom I created for my glory,whom I formed and made.”
NIV


 


Father God, please help me learn to trust in you more and more.  My desire is to totally and completely trust you instead of trusting you a little while or trusting you, then taking back what I've given you.  Let me follow you like a good little sheep instead of asking all the time where you are taking us and when are we going to be there.  You are the great and awesome God and I will fear not, because you are with me.  I know you will protect me and keep me no matter what comes my way. 


6 thoughts on “Still Learning How to Trust in Him

  1. Thank you for putting into words what has been going through my mind these days. To be able to trust without fearing the future is my longing.

    God bless you,
    Karen

    Like

  2. Thanks for visiting me.

    Actually, it was an Italian car. 🙂 I am still laughing whenever I think of it.

    Some day soon, I’ll tell my train story.

    Blessings,
    Karen

    Like

  3. Sorry for being anonymous – this is Melanie from Mileshouse! I’m at my parents for the week, and they have dial-up. When I try to log-in, it disconnects…weird.

    As to why Springfield? My husband and I attended Evangel University in Spfd back in the late 80’s early 90’s and still have numerous friends who stuck around the area after graduation. One friend has just started hs’ing and asked me to go with her for moral support. We’re contemplating a quicky trip up there to spend time with them and help ease her fears as to whether they’re doing the right thing by pulling their son from a private Christian school…It’s not the best convention in the world, but just right for beginners I hope. She’s using A Beka and her son is hating every day of school…I’m suggesting she try some more hands-on, natural methods since he is very high spirited. It would help if they disciplined him more, but that is not my business! ;0)>
    I’d love to meet you if we do end up going! The gas prices are a bit steep right now, but we would get a mini-vacation as the dads are planning a hiking trip to Arkansas while we (and her nursing baby boy) shop & learn.
    Melanie – I’ll be back home by this weekend, so if you try to reach me, be patient please!

    Like

  4. Hi
    You visited my blog and I wanted to return the favor. I really enjoyed reading your particulars on head coverings. I found it very enlightening and I thank you for it! I have always wondered about them and it really helped me to understand that it is truly something between God, husband & wife. I have always felt that it is such but it’s interesting to me to hear you speak about how on particular days you really felt the need to wear it. So interesting to me. God bless you.
    Hope to chat again sometime,
    Shannon

    Like

  5. I have just recently fallen for the E. E. books myself–borrowed a bunch from a friend and HAVE to buy them! A Path Through Suffering was really good. And Be Still My Soul… I have some reviews on them buried in my blog,

    Like

Comments are closed.