The Undressing of the Churches Youth

I love it when I read my friends blogs it gives me thought for something to write about.  That's what happened when I read humpty's most recent post.  She was talking about modesty.  She linked to the dings blog  with some great thoughts on modesty as well.  (Meanwhile, I've made a new friend.) 


 


Before we backed out of Sunday School a few months ago, we taught the teen class for 3 quarters.  We gained their respect–or so we thought over those months.  One of the last things we did was seperate the boys and girls and talk to them about modesty and  purity.  I had seen the panties of one very sweet girl in particular on several occassions during those months.  Cleavage was abundant in almost all of the girls.  I was very blunt.  I gave them my testimony about my previous life. about my courtship with hubby– and how different (and wonderful) it was.  Much better than anything I had experienced until that point. I actually thought I had gotten somewhere.  The discussion was lively almost everyone was involved.  We laughed and joked.  One girl (that had lost her innocence) broke down and cried.  She then, jokingly buttoned her shirt up and we had a laugh.  I honestly thought I had gotten the point across.  I didn't tell them they had to wear dresses (nor did I expect it to happen) but I suggested that it was the most modest way of dressing.  We talked about wearing pants that weren't glued on, and blouses that didn't show everything.  I tried to explain how boys/men think so they would undertand.  We talked about leading our brothers into sin. Etc. Etc.


 


NONE OF IT SOAKED IN! 


 


I guess I shouldn't be surprised, I just hoped and prayed that it would.  And, honestly, it seemed to for a few weeks.  Then came Christmas and the girls were showing off their new bling bling.  Camisole tops where everything hangs out, and skirts that barely covered rearends abounded everywhere.  And it continues… the Sunday after prom, the girls came in wearing their immodest and provocative prom dresses.  Last Sunday I could almost see one of the girls bottoms as I was walking out behind her (I promise the skirt wasn't 2 inches below her cheeks).  IMO, those kind of skirts are more immodest than daisy dukes. 


 


I only hope that someday when they are older they will think back to the night in youth class and remember–


 


 

4 thoughts on “The Undressing of the Churches Youth

  1. God promises that his word will not return empty, “but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.” (Is. 55:11) Thank you for investing in America’s Youth!

    I read through your blog and checked out your family pictures ~ you have a beautiful family. God’s timing will work out your adoption. I know that the waiting can be hard.

    Julie (masquerading as Acceptance with Joy) ~ adoptive mom (1 child adopted through domestic adoption, 1 failed foster-adopt placement, 2 waiting children in Haiti)

    Like

  2. I praise you and your husband’s attempt.
    Modesty is a huge issue for us at our home. But as modestly as my step-daughter(now 18) always dressed, she still has made poor choices in regards to her sexuality. I’m prayerfully putting together in my mind a purity ceremony for our 11 year old daughter. I’m thankful that our church has youth leadership that is solid. I know that we can’t go back to the 1800’s, I just get frustruated with the messages sent to our children. Even in dance classes.
    Thank you so much for the link to the Ding’s site.

    I would love to get my daughter’s involved in 4H. I was involved in it for a year. And really enjoyed it. You will be blessed by it.

    I loved all of your family pictures.

    Refresh my memory about the exercise dvd’s you recommended.
    I’m praying for you about your recent home studies and potential adoptions.

    Thank you for being you, you inspire me to keep on the straight and narrow path,
    Wishing you a blessed week,
    Linda

    Like

  3. Thanks for linking to our blog.

    I think the message from C.J. Mahaney (do listen!!!) as well as the girltalk resources sum up well why you failed to see change in the young men & ladies in your church. The problem? Outside change (modest dress) only happens when inside change happens (conviction rooted in a love to Christ). There will not be any lasting change so long as there is not a genuine desire to adorn the gospel of Christ. The heart of immodesty is drawing attention to self. The heart of *godly* modesty is drawing attention to Christ and not causing our brothers or sisters (in the truest sense not mere casual terminology) to stumble.

    Too often, exhortations to modesty fail to cut to the heart of the matter. IOW, if men and women aren’t affected by the Spirit for a love to Christ and fellow saints, then whatever responses one may elicit are superficial at best and legalistic at worst. Appeals to “purity” and “saving one’s body for marriage” fall short of the heart, because even then a genuine response can still be self-centered. Until immodesty is pressed home as a heart issue, a sin issue, a self issue; and until God does a gracious work in the heart of the listener, I would be unsurprised at a lack of genuine change.

    You have my sympathy. How sad that the church should be a place where men have to look down on the ground to avoid stumbling.

    Like

Comments are closed.