Why Homeschooling is a Conviction for Us

I was catching up on some blogs this morning and ran across  homeiscool's post on conviction vs preverence and felt that I had to add my 2 cents worth.  Then I thought maybe my response should go here as well.  So here it is. 


 


Proverbs 13:20 Whoever walks with the wise becomes wise, but the companion of fools will suffer harm. 


The government school is definately filled with fools. 
Deut. 6: 5 says
 “Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. 5 You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. 6 And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart.You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise.”


 


I realize this is OT and although the NT “did away with keeping the old law, we cannot throw it out.  There is much wisdom there.
Luke 10:27
And he answered, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind, and your neighbor as yourself.


This is a similar command to the one in Deut. although Deut. expounds on HOW you do this– How can our children learn to love their Lord with all their heart soul mind and strength  if they are in a pagan gov't school where the word of God cannot be taught for the majority of their waking hours? and the way of Paganism is taught as truth?  This cannot be accomplished in the hours they are at home, in church etc.  3,4, 5 or even more  hours of church each week cannot combat the trash taught in the gov't school. 


This is not Biblical but it is a wise saying– garbage in, garbage out. 


 


In case you can't tell, it is a conviction for us– since I am married to a second gen homeschooler, I'll ad that when homeschooling first started it HAD to be a conviction, the pioneers would not risk what they did for a preference.


 


 


This concludes what I wrote on homeiscools comments (except for some tweaking since I had more time to think it through)


 


**********************************


I will add that I believe homeschooling is in danger of loosing some of it's ground because more and more people are not homeschooling out of conviction.  It's become a fad of sorts.  I have blogged about this before, but I believe it bears mentioning again.  If it 's a preference, there's no heart behind it.  It's just something different to do.  For those of us that are believers in the Lord Jesus Christ, home educating our children should be a conviction.  Yes, I realize that is a strong statement, but God has given us a huge blessing and also a huge responsibility.  Academics is a nice by-product of home education, but it is not a sufficient reason to home educate. 


 


The main purpose of our life is to glorify God–this is the reason we were created.  All of us (whether we call on his name or not) were created by Him and in His image.  The main goal of our life should be to bring our children to eternal life in Christ Jesus. (and ourselves as well)  Three of the 4 gospels talk about this —


Matthew 16:26 For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his life? Or what shall a man give in return for his life?


Mark 8:36 For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his life?


Luke 9:25 For what does it profit a man if he gains the whole world and loses or forfeits himself? 


 


 This is not to say we can't be successful in the world (God has blessed many Christians with worldly success) but it matters naught that one is successful in the world if they are not successful for eternity. 


 


Getting off my soapbox now.  Have a wonderful day in the Lord!

3 thoughts on “Why Homeschooling is a Conviction for Us

  1. I agree that it is becoming a fad of sorts, but I can’t imagine that those families can actually stick with it when the going gets tough and it will! I know that I would not be entering my 7th year of homeschooling if it weren’t a conviction and a calling. Hopefully some of the families who start because of a fad will encounter families who are homeschooling because of a calling and there can some kind of ministry that happens.

    Like

  2. A great reminder of why we started homeschooling so many years ago. (13) Sadly somewhere along the line, academics started to be the main focus, how slick satan is to twist things around even when we are doing what we know God wanted us to do…. I have to be careful to keep the focus on God and his ways, everyday.
    And when things have gotten tough, and I have felt like giving up homeschooling, God always reminds me of why I am doing this.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Darlene

    Like

Comments are closed.