Gena’s Contest

I started writing on Gena's blog for her contest, but decided that it was too long. so here are the questions:


 


How long have you been homeschooling?
Had you always planned to homeschool your kids or was it something you “discovered” and wanted to do after your kids were of school age?
Why do you homeschool, personally AND has it been worth it? Has it met your expectations? How much has your homeschooling experience “morphed” since you first began


 


And here is my answer:


 


We have been homeschooling since our oldest came home at 18 months old–she turned 10 yesterday.  Whether a parent realizes it or not, we are our child's first teacher.


 


Shane is the oldest son of a pioneer homeschooling family — As we were courting, I dreaded the day it would come up in conversation.  Being pioneers, it was a conviction for his parents and they passed that on to Shane.  Of course it did come up, and I told him I didn't think I could do it– he told me he knew I could–After I taught the oldest to read, I knew I could do it– end of story.



Homeschooling for us is a very strong, very firmly held conviction.  I think every Christian living in this pagan society ought to do it and I'm not ashamed to say it. 


I cannot imagine sending my children away from me for the better part of their childhood.  It has had it's share of difficult times.  Yes, there have been days that I thought another way would be easier for me, but then I realize it would be much more difficult for them.    


 


I am much more laid back than when we began “formal” schooling.  If it's not working, we stop for the day, or change gears.  There was a time when I would push through until Princess and I were both in tears and frustrated (you know that ever present little math subject).  


We are learning that although the academics of home education is a wonderful by-product of what we do– it is not why we do what we do.  The greater goal is that our children learn to love and serve God with all their heart, soul, mind and strength. 


 


Homeschooling is so worth it!  I know where my children are, what they are doing and how they are doing it.  I don't have to worry about the “socialization” of sex,  drugs,  and violence, nor do my children have to be labelled with some disorder so the system can get more money for them.   They are learning the  truth about the creation of the universe and the founding of our country among other things.  And they are learning to learn, not just to pass a test.  


 


Above all, they are learning about God and His Word.  We are doing our best to teach them to love and serve Him in all things.   Hopefully they are learning that He is the most important thing in this life — not whether you have a boyfriend, wear the latest styles or have a lot of things or make lots of money. 

8 thoughts on “Gena’s Contest

  1. Those are great questions aren’t they? It was nice to read your answers. I know what you mean about the frustration. I am still trying to work that out at times, but it is getting better. (I am learning when to stop pushing–so slowly though).

    I am reluctant to say homeschooling should be for every Christian family. I think it is the ideal situation for most children, but sometimes circumstances intervene and make it a most difficult, if not impossible decision for parents. We live in an imperfect world, and I wish I could say it would work for everyone, but I don’t think it does. How can we judge others for making the decision not to homeschool?

    I don’t wish to offend you, or anyone else who may read this. I homeschool and love it, and I share my excitement about it with anyone who will listen, but I would not condemn a person who doesn’t.

    Please feel free to edit this out if you find it offensive.
    In Christian love,
    Karen

    Like

  2. Karen,
    I appreciate your comments and feel no need to edit them. They were made in love. No offense taken.

    I do want to assure you that I do not go around force feeding homeschooling to Christians. I do not judge them for their choice, after all, it is their choice. However, if I am asked, I will not hide my beliefs. I believe it is nearly impossible to raise a child to be a strong Christian in the public school where God is a bad word, and marginal in a private school. God gave parents the responsibilty to educate their children, not the government. I blogged about this some time ago, don’t have time right now to find it as my computer time is up for now.
    Christine

    Like

  3. We've been doing this for 11 years now and I can't imagine any other way. I pulled my son on Oct 19th of his 4th grade year; my daughter finished kindergarten while I got my feet wet. The reason I began homeschooling years ago are not the same reasons I still homeschool and we have greatly eveloved. We consider it to be our duty to do everything possible to raise Godly men and women, no matter how difficult it may be. And for the community we live in, that means training them at home. And I do agree that every Godly parent (with the exception of widows who may truly be unable) should should do this. At the very least, provide them with a Godly education at a Christian or Jewish school. So many of us will draw a strict line choosing a house of worship by not letting our children sit under unbiblical teaching teaching for 1 hour per week, but will let them sit under unbiblical teaching for 8 hours a day the rest of the week. It may be difficult for some parents, but God assures us that he will strengthen and guide us. Just my thoughts and comments. Great post Christine.Edited by mijubrifarms on Jun. 12, 2006 at 7:18 PM

    Like

  4. to your children and the generations that will follow.
    I’m thankful that you quickly saw your husband’s wisdom, you can and do homeschool wonderfully.
    Happy belated birthday to your daughter. Hope you had a fun weekend.
    Wishing you a blessed and great day,
    Linda

    Like

  5. Thanks for sharing your story! I agree whole-heartedly. My niece is in public school and it’s hard to listen to the things she is exposed to and has to deal with. Homeschooling is SUCH a gift from God.

    Blessings,
    Courtney

    Like

  6. Ditto.

    I have homeschooled since 1983 or 1984. My youngest was 3 or 4. I knew no one that homeschooled. It was a conviction and still is. We had bad days and good days and I wouldn’t trade any of them for one day in public school. What I have changed is that I am using Charlotte Mason’s approach with my g’son and I used textbooks with my children. I also would have searched for different programs to help with reading and spelling for my oldest, and not rely on the curriculum that I used. He needed something different and I didn’t know where or who to turn to back then. Character and integrity was always one of my top priorities. Homeschoolers are so privileged to have all of the help, the internet, the yahoo groups, blogs, help from experienced mothers, support groups, etc. It’s a new day for homeschooling, I just hope that it continues for the right reasons and that homeschoolers can make a difference for Christ in our world.

    Like

Comments are closed.