A Phone Call

Yesterday afternoon my phone rang.  Didn't recognize the number, but with the adoption stuff I didn't want to not answer and miss someone I needed to talk to.  This was a lady I needed to talk to.  In fact the phone call was so wonderful, that I hung up crying over it. 


 


It was, Kelly, one of the ladies that I was at the Above Rubies retreat with. Unfortunately, I cannot picture her face, but have an idea of who she is. 


 


She explained that back around Christmas, they felt that they would be adopting one of the deaf girls in the Children Concerned orphanage, and their 8 children had been doing some fund raising already even though they really didn't know when they would be pursing the adoption of “Hope”  named from the verse “I know the plans I have for you to give you a hope and a future”  They have some kind of a jar that they have been filling for their “Hope fund”  Apparently, Kelly had shared with her family my email about Dorcas and these precious children ages 16 to 8 months decided that they wanted to help bring Dorcas home with that money.  Kelly said she had no idea how much was in the jar, but whatever was their was ours. 


 


You know– it doesn't matter if it is $10 or $100 or $1000 — these children's hearts are so precious that I was overwhelmed.  I couldn't help but think about the widow and her mite.  I am proud of these children and honored more that I can say that they would sacrifice the results of their hard work (Kelly did say that they had some kind of a circus of sorts to raise some of the money) for Dorcas. 


 

2 thoughts on “A Phone Call

  1. What a precious gift!!! And an encouragement to your heart, I’m sure.

    I can already see God’s Hand in all of this, can’t you?

    Love,
    Marsha

    Like

  2. OH WOW! This reminds me of the time my darling fell from a ladder, and an e-friend’s children wanted to take up a collection for us. One child gave all he had! I so enjoyed reading this~just incredible! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

    Like

Comments are closed.