Embarassed to be a Homeschooler

Last night was Princesses and Bubba's last dance.  We ended a 5 year “career” in ballet for Princess and 2 years for Bubba.  (As soon as they download there will be pictures of our little Seahorse and Rose of Sharon on the family blog).  The girls that run the program are homeschool graduates.  We have been thrilled to be a part of it until these last few months– but something changed.  Yes, we've probably moved some, but they have moved a lot!  It it no longer a wholesome environment for our children. 


 


One of the main reasons for this is because of the change in the atmosphere at the studio and in the instructors.  Subtle little changes.  A nose stud for one of the teachers, her attitude toward the girls changed, students dressing very immodestly for class.  The overall atmosphere of this show was different than the previous two. Much more modern dance and much less ballet.  I think it's a shame to teach children grace and poise and then have them rolling all over the floor.  And, if you'll remember Shane blogged about Princesses costume a few weeks ago.   There were other costumes that were even more immodest than hers. 


 


I volunteered to be a backstage mom for Bubba's class the first day it was offered.  I figured that Bubba would be so excited that I would need to sit on him by Saturday night.  I was so proud of my 2– the were 2 of the best behaved in the room.  Unfortunately, I have never been more embarrassed by some of the children's behavior.  The entire room was chaotic and out of control.  I finally gave up and kept my eye on my 2 children and a couple of friends children.  And left the rest to their own unless they were climbing on chairs or hitting each other.    I never even figured out who  the mother was that was supposed to be watching Princess's class– and I looked.  Princess came home with a headache after 3 hours of blah, blah, blah, blah, blah. 


 


As we were backstage for curtain call I was treated rudely by a 5 year old bunny rabbit that told me “I don't have to do what you say because you're not my mother”  By that time in the night  I didn't have the patience left to deal with an insolent little brat and told her that since her mother wasn't there, I was the one in charge of her and she needed to do what I said.  She refused and was almost ran into while the teen girls were leaving the stage. 


 


Sadly, by the time it was all said and done, all 3 of us were just ready to get out of there.  I have never been more embarrassed by my fellow homeschoolers than I was last night. 


 


 

One thought on “Embarassed to be a Homeschooler

  1. I am so sorry you had such a hard time! Big cyber hugs going out to you today! I remember your dh’s post! I am sorry things got to this point. It is a shame but unfortunately these behavoirs do not belong exclusively to public schooled children. I do see a lot less of it in the homeschool community though. If parents are home with children they generally do teach them to behave properly. It is when both parents are working outside the home that they don’t have time or energy to deal with it.

    JoJo

    Like

Comments are closed.