“You’re Making More Work for Me”

I am ashamed to admit that this has been my mantra to the children as of late.  Anytime they don’t do things "my way" and it ends up making a mess,  I have been thanking them for making more work for me. 

What a selfish attitude!!!

I believe I said something in an earlier entry about reading through Martha Peace’s book :The Excellent Wife.  I have been, and I know why– I am ready to hear the things she has to say.  (at least some of them)  God’s timing is perfect– always.  I have tried and tried to pick up this book, but haven’t been able to get past the first few pages.  (Several years ago that happened with Elizabeth George’s book A Woman After God’s Own Heart and it convicted me that I should be dressing in dresses because God made me feminine. ) 

In Chapter 4 Mrs. Peace talks about understanding relationships.  She discusses the perfect relationship between the 3 different persons of the Trinity.  And she talks about how the Son, and the Holy Spirit submit to the Father.   A few pages over, she states that " as you … desire to have a normal relationship with your husband, you must become and act like Jesus" She says our motivation must change from "What can I get out of this?" to "What a can I give?"  "Hence, you should expect no thanks or recognition.  You are just doing your minimal duty to God" Now, this didn’t really strike me in my relationship with Shane (maybe it should have– but think I have this sort of mindset with Shane most often). 

BUT…

it did strike me with the children.  I have had it all wrong with them lately.  I haven’t been wanting to do my minimal duty to God with them.  I have been wanting them to make less work for me.  However, Mrs. Peace helped me to realize that I am their servant.  And if I model servanthood, they will learn to be servants as well. 

Luke 17:10 So you too, when you are doing all the things which are commanded you, say, "We are unworthy slaves; we have done only that which we ought to have done"  

Being slaves is all that we all ought to be.  It doesn’t matter if I don’t get pats on the back or kudos for doing my job as a Mom.  Because I am a mere slave, unworthy of any appreciation.  If it not for Christ, I would be no better than a pile of chicken poo.  I am so small and insignificant– yet I think I am so great and worthy of the praises of men.  (And the appreciation of children).  Yet it is not I that am great and worthy of the praise — but the Father, God Almightly that has created this ole body that is wasting away. 

Oh Father!  Please forgive me that I have made myself more important than I ought to have.  Help me be a humble servant to my children, my husband and those about me.  Blind the eyes of my children to my selfish ways and help them see the servant that you call me to be so that they will learn how to be servants to you and for your Glory.  In Jesus Name, Amen.

Thanks be to God that he has not only made us slaves on earth, but that through the shedding of his very own blood in Christ Jesus he has made us Princes and Princess as well. 

4 thoughts on ““You’re Making More Work for Me”

  1. Congratulations on your realization and thank you for reminding me. I appreciate your comments. Good luck with changing your heart and mind in His direction.
    Blessings to you and yours,
    ~Farrah

    Like

  2. [I am their servant] Ouch! I do not come to your blog to have my toes stepped upon. :o)

    I have found myself having a similar attitude with Marissa. I have consciously changed my vocabulary from "my child" to "God's child." I have made a real effort to remember that I am given sacred stewardship for just a short time. Tough.

    As a mom raising black children, I wanted to share some entries I found just this week when I was researching my entry for MLK Day. I have not spent a great deal of time on this man's blog and I am quite sure that he aligns himself doctrinally with the emerging church, but he had some interesting comments on the concept of slavery from the point of view of a black man.

    http://www.mauricebroaddus.com/2006/02/theology-of-slavery-part-i.htm

    http://www.mauricebroaddus.com/2006/02/theology-of-slavery-part-ii.htm

    Like

  3. Wow what a post!!! I really needed to hear that right now!! Thank you for passing on the wisdom you are gaining on to others!! It sounds like a great book!!

    Like

  4. I needed that. Though I do think that children need to be able to thank someone for helping or at least learn to give compliments. But yes, many times I get so caught up things that I just need to stop and stay this is for God , not for me, and do a job worthy.
    I wrote on my blog about they question you asked.
    Deana

    Like

Comments are closed.