LIfe Lessons for Wives from Damsels in Distress

There are several situations in our life right now that are causing major stressors including our church situation.  We have not had a good, supportive church situation in a long, long time.  This community has been my "good supportive, church" in many ways over the last year.  Shane is my Knight in shining armour in this situation.  He has visited churches on our list and this has protected us from visiting churches that he knew very quickly would not be a match for our family.  He has been able to come back and share why a particular church wasn’t a good match and has been able to be objective.  Whereas, the children and I might not be so objective.   He has protected us from unnecessary excitment and dissappointment.   And I totally trust Shane to find our next church home. 

As Shane and I were talking recently, he reminded me of an illustration I used with someone quite a while back, that really stuck with him.  My memory is lousy, so I have forgotten, but if he is willing to give me the credit, I’ll take it. 

Our husbands are our Knights in shining Armour. 

How?  Being my protector is one of the jobs that God has given him.   A Knight’s job is to protect and serve the King, and always the "damsel in distress."  This  must happen in any good medival book, or movie. 

The Knight is trained to know the tools of his trade and is of galant and noble ability and character.   The Damsel always supports her Knight.  She NEVER questions his ability to protect her.  She never tells him what weapon to use, or how to use it.  Think  about it.  Robin Hood, King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table.  The women never questioned their Knights actions.  (Could you see maid Marion asking "why are you fill in the blank?", or "You should have used the spear instead of the knife when fighting the Sheriff of Nottingham"

But you might be saying that we are not fair maidens.  We are wives imperfect wives to our imperfect men.   But this illustration can be applied in our relationships with our husbands.  

 HOw do we do this?  We let our husband’s slay the dragon’s and fight the battles.    We submit to what he says we need to do in any given situation.  When we do this we don’t hopefully don’t, tell him how to do it.  I will say however, that this is a difficult feat– I have fallen at times and told Shane how to fight the dragon, or questioned why he used the "weapon" he did. 

And the consequences could be dire if we do this tell him how to do it.   In real life, the consequences will probably not be as severe as death to the Knight or the Maiden, however, the Knight might have to get us out of a sticky situation that we put ourselves into if we don’t follow His instructions. 

 As women, we are inexperienced in these things.  Our husband’s have been slaying dragons since they were boys.  They were learning this while we were changing our dollies diapers, and styling their hair. 

Shane says this is why a football team has cheerleaders.  The pretty girls on the sidelines cheering on the "men" during the "fight"  help the men succeed.  What man doesn’t want to look good in front of women?  Especially pretty women?  I am not particularly pretty, but Shane seems to think so.  What better cheerleader can a husband have than the wife of his youth?

Maid Marion was Robin Hood’s perfect cheerleader.   Oh how I wish I could be.  So many times I question! I demand!  I want to know what Shane is thinking, how he is going to take care of something, when he is going to do something.  I will say, I think I’ve made some progress over the last 12+ years, but not enough.  Being a submissive wife is one of my life goals.  Maybe by the time my life is over I’ll actually achieve success.  Until then I’ll trudge along. 

I understand — in story books and movies the ladies can do this job perfectly.  Sometimes I wish we, as wives, could do several takes and have the end product be perfect without a lot of mess in the middle.   I guess we do get several takes,  but it’s not as easy as in the movies.  We step on toes, hurt feelings, and generally really mess it up in our "70×7" retakes. 

