Praying the Fruit of the Spirit

We are slowly working our way through some S.M. Davis videos.  I highly recommend the information, but I wish I hadn’t let the lady talk me into the videos — we don’t have time to sit in front of the t.v. for 5 hours to watch these and they are all available on audio– and cheaper too. 

In one of the videos we did watch, Dr. Davis talks about asking the Holy Spirit to fill you.  Now that is something that I have struggled with in the past.  I believe the Holy Spirit fills you when you accept Christ.  However, I understand his sentiment.  I believe what he is saying is that if we let our human spirit control more, the Holy Spirit will control less– he is saying that the Holy Spirit should control more.  So that’s what I’ve been asking for.

Dr. Davis also mentions praying the fruit of the Spirit for yourself as well.  Great idea that I have taken a step further.  I have been praying the fruit of the Spirit for our home daily. 

Dear Father, I pray that you will fill our home with love and joy and peace today.  Give us patience with each other and help us to be kind, gentle, and good to each other today.  Help us to be faithful to our family and to You today.  And Lord give us self-control today.  In Jesus Name, Amen. 

I believe the Lord is answering that prayer.

Have a blessed day!

