Let Me Surprise You

I’m going to write about something that might surprise you.

BEER– yes that very distinctive tasting alcoholic beverage. 

Fletch over at the Mango times was talking about his beer butt chicken (I hate the word "butt" but that’s just one of my pet peeves).   I commented that Shane might have to try it.  Except he wouldn’t drink the 1/2 can of beer because he doesn’t like the taste of it, unless it’s on beer battered onion rings, mushrooms or brats, that is.  But I might– drink it that is, because I like the taste of beer.  Now you might be wondering how in the world I would have developed a taste for that yucky stuff–

Here’s the story.  My Dad’s a Bud man.  When we were little and he’d  been working, whether around our house or if we were at my Uncle’s house in Murfreesboro, TN and it was hot and he was sweaty, it was Bud time.  Well, low and behold who would the beer runner be?  They were busy working.  You got it, it’d be me and my brother.  Now what 9 or 10 year old, when given the opportunity would not drink down some of that good tasting "treat."  My brother and I were pretty normal 9 and 10 year olds.  I learned to love it at an early age.  

Amazingly, the night I was saved I was at Applebee’s with a friend after work, having a beer.  But it sat there all night.  I took a couple of sips and it didn’t taste good at all!  In fact it was yucky!!!!  This was many years ago.  Now, occassionally, I’ll get a 6 pack of O’Douls or other non-alcoholic beer and it’ll last me a while– it’s a special treat.  Occasionally, Shane will make beer battered veggies and I’ll get a swallow or two out of the can.  Other than that, beer is not a part of my life anymore. 

Now, some of you might even be thinking how terrible I am for drinking it at all.  When I first believed on the Lord, I searched the Scriptures for one saying "do not drink" but it’s not there.  Scripture says "do not get drunk"  Jesus turned the water into wine at the wedding.  I was what would be called a "social drinker"  after work a couple or three nights a week, we’d go have a cold one.  Most often beer was my choice, mainly because I was cheap, even then, and I couldn’t bring myself to spend a ton of money on anything more expensive than an draft beer or two.  

Let me clarify– I am by NO MEANS advocating everyone going to the store and buying beer, or wine and definately not hard liquor.   I would never serve it to anyone visiting my home, but don’t be surprised if you find a bottle of O’Doul’s (or some wine) in the fridge, or a can of Bud on the shelf in the mudroom.  

 

7 thoughts on “Let Me Surprise You

  1. I got a good laugh out of this! I just can't picture you drinking beer! (Not that I can really "picture" you anyway as I've never seen your face!) I don't drink beer because I think it tastes bad, but will drink other alcoholic beverages on rare occasions. My husband does drink beer, but not excessively. I think that's the key, not being addicted and not getting drunk.

    Like

  2. I have never liked the taste of beer, but if I had learned to think of it as a treat when I was young, I might justify it as an adult. I don't think partaking is a sin, but it is wrong for me.

    My mother does not partake either, but she does like the taste of it. She has beer in her fridge occassionally to make beer bisquits.

    Like

  3. Thanks for the link to theMT and your willingness to open this topic on your blog. I’ve seen this one spark a debate, so I’m glad I can come here to leave my comments.
    This is one topic where I wish we would balance our discussion with God’s attitude: When instructed to exchange the tithe of grain for money, here is how it shall be spent: "…and you shall spend that money for whatever your heart desires: for oxen or sheep, for wine or similar drink, for whatever your heart desires; you shall eat there before the LORD your God, and you shall rejoice, you and your household."

    David comparing the joy of God to the abundance of wine says: "You have put gladness in my heart, More than in the season that their grain and wine increased."

    He goes on to talk about all of the goodness God provides: "He causes the grass to grow for the cattle, And vegetation for the service of man, That he may bring forth food from the earth, And wine that makes glad the heart of man, Oil to make his face shine, And bread which strengthens man's heart."

    When I’ve heard others struggle with their kids "seeing beer" I think about David and Solomon. Instead of his son Solomon being appalled at the notion of alcohol, in Proverbs Solomon talks about vats overflowing with new wine!

    Isaiah talks about the feast that the Lord prepares: "He prepares a banquet with well-aged wines and fine, well-aged wines" – now that is a banquet I would like to attend

    I could also show the flipside that speak of the judgment of God and the lack of wine, the drying of the winepresses, etc… but my point has been made. If we took the time and searched the scripture, we’d find a healthier understanding of blessing vs. excess.

    And again…when you come to California with those chocolate chip cookies…we will cook up some beer-butt chicken and have an "Isaiah Banquet"
    Fletch

    Like

  4. I also enjoy the occasional sip of beer – mostly when I'm making BBQ'd chicken. We love to crack open a can of Coors or some other kind of inexpensive beer and set it on the grill with the chicken held standing upright over it. The chicken comes out with the most amazing flavor and of course there are a few frosty sips for the chef prior to cooking. I agree with the previous post that there is ample evidence in the Bible that God does not oppose these kinds of beverages (Jesus Himself turned water into wine as we all know) but that the problem arises when moderation is not exercised. Thanks for the interesting topic!

    Blessings,
    Courtney

    Like

  5. Hey…..interesting topic. I have gotten to where I just can't stand to drink anything sweet anymore. If I'm tired of water, we might order a beer when out. Or have one at home.
    I buy my hubby a pack of "Beers of the World" (World Market) every year for Christmas, and it takes forever to get through it. But beer goes better with black bread and real butter. Neither of us ever get drunk….we value our minds too much for that. ha.
    bethanyrae

    Like

  6. Hey, when I read what I had just commented, I thought it sounded like I was a bit of a wino…..it's actually been months since I've had anything. and it takes most of the year to get through that gift. Just so you know!
    me

    Like

  7. I was raised baptist–drinking was a big no-no. I did manage to develop a liking for certain wines despite that and then, when we moved here, I tried Sam Adams dark beer—OH MY. I really really liked it. I found I'm just someone who likes a nice dark beer–Becks, etc. Found a new German one recently that was good (I am part German….)

    Anyway, we are by no means alcoholics either–maybe twice a month? But it sure is good–I've found I'd much rather have that than soda. ewwww lol

    Like

Comments are closed.