Going Through Hell

Did that get your attention????

I thought it might.  But this post isn’t about what you think it’s going to be about.  Althought our van is still in the shop and we are pretty sure repairs wil set us back about a grand… but that’s not hell.  Just an annoyance.  Anyway….

Yesterday Shane and I were visiting with a pastor friend and he made a statement that I just can’t get out of my mind. 

He said "Jesus went through hell on the cross" 

He made this statement in passing, but it struck a cord with me.  I never thought of it that way before.  But me thinks it is a very good way to put it. 

Jesus was seperated from the Father while he took on the sins of the world.  Being God himself, and being seperated was enough to cause the pain he underwent when his Father forsook him.  But he was forsaken on the cross because he was bearing OUR sin!  Every single solitary sin of every believer.  Big sins and LITTLE sins…

"He is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the sins of the whole world." 1 John 2:2.  Think about the magnitude of that verse. 

Yes, Jesus went through hell for us.

3 thoughts on “Going Through Hell

  1. That is so true. It's life-shaking to realize the depth of what Jesus went through to save me. We just kind of toss off the phrase, "Jesus died on the cross for my sins" without thinking too much of the physical, emotional and spiritual torture he endured. It makes me take my sin so much more seriously and want to grow into a life that pleases Him more.
    Thanks for this post. I think I needed to read that today!
    Karen

    Like

Comments are closed.