Welcome One and All

 I will be blogging here from this time forward and will also be setting up our family blog here in the future.  I have been spoiled by the homeschoolblogger community.  I realize that most of the bloggers on HSB were definately homeschoolers, and Christians.  That is why I liked HSB so much and waited so long to leave.  Those on WordPress are probably not, but I will definately not change who I am just because I changed my blog addy.  Our family is weird by many people’s definition.   Being a 2nd generation homeschooling family is enough to qualify, but we are teaching our boys to be men and our girls to be ladies (we  wear dresses– even horsebackriding).  I have worned a headcovering the past 3 years (currently restudying the issue).  We don’t send our children to Sunday School and I am sure there are other things that would qualify us as weird… but I think that’s enough for now 🙂  Oh Yea, we don’t do Halloween or Santa Claus.

This will take some getting used to, but I think I will like it.  I will be slowly moving my archives from HSB here, but it will take some time.   I’m getting tired just thinking about it 🙂 

For now, I would like to leave you with some thoughts on Halloween.  Since we moved to the country, Halloween isn’t really an issue.  Most of our friends don’t participate in the “holiday”  When our Pastor asked for someone to volunteer their home for that Wednesday’s Bible study– we quickly offered.  

We don’t do Halloween, “Trunk or Treat” or other Alternatives either.  Halloween isn’t just some innocent little holiday– it is a day where Satanic activity is extremely high.  He gets enough attention 364 days a year why should we “celebrate” him all the more the other day.  We usually rent a good movie and sit down with a big bowl of popcorn.  Or Shane reads some out of whatever family reading book we are working through at the time.  (this was posted from my HSB blog)

 

Last year, we found out that Martin Luther nailed October 31st is also the day that Martin Luther nailed his 95 thesis onto the Wittenberg church door.  I don’t know how we missed this historic event before.  We had planned to celebrate “Reformation Day” instead of Halloween.  But then we got the call that Sweet Cheeks passport was ready and  Shane was in Liberia bringing her home over halloween. So instead of celebrating Reformation day, the children and I curled up with a big bowl of popcorn and watched “Luther”.  

 

Why not celebrate this historic event instead of joining the world to celebrate a pagan holiday. 

