Thoughts and Kindness

 I am feeling convicted lately of several things in my parenting that aren’t what they should be.  This is just one of them that I’m feeling the crunch about today. 

Yesterday afternoon I was visiting with Bubba.  Lately, I have noticed that oftentimes, the children are speaking unkindly to one another, and sometimes to me.   I asked him where he thought they learned it.

  “I don’t know” 

then I asked the question… you know which one.  The one that you already know the answer to, but you don’t really want to hear it. 

 “does Mommy talk like that?”

meekly Bubba says “yes”

Ouch! Embarassed  So I repented and vowed to do a better job at speaking kindly overall. 

This morning, Bubba answered the phone.  Politely as always,” ________ residence, Bubba speaking”  Then I hear, “are you a telemarketer?” in a not so kind tone.  Fortunately, I believe the “telemarketer” on the other end had hung up and didn’t hear Bubba’s unkindness because they called back a few minutes later and hung up when I answered.  In case you’re wondering, let me assure you I have NEVER done that ever a time in my life, so he didn’t get that from me. 

A few minutes later, he was playing with Sweet Cheeks and accidently did something that wasn’t very polite to Princess.  So I talked to all of them about “taking every thought captive” and treating others as you would want to be treated.  We talked about how we need to think about what we do before we actually do it.  We need to ask if the person to whom I’m going to do said act would like it done to them.”  “What if someone did it to me, would I like it?”  Bubba admited that he wouldn’t like it if someone did what he was doing to Princess… 

Lately Dobson, IMO, has been hit or miss.  But this morning was really good.  About not just having obedient children, but about having children with right hearts.  That’s what my desire is for my children.  For them to love the Lord their God with all their hearts, minds, souls and strength and to love their neighbor as themselves. 

Dear Father, please take my feeble attempts at teaching my children to love you and draw them unto yourself in spite of my foolishness. In Jesus Name, Amen

