Surprise Thanksgiving

Well.  We always have Thanksgiving at Shane’s grandparents.  Can’t remember any year in our 13 years of marriage that we’ve had it anywhere esle.   

Tuesday, Shane’s Uncle decided to have everyone at their "lake house" in southern Iowa this year.  They’ve talked about doing this several years now, so we’d really like to go, but, we really don’t want to drive to Iowa for the day, plus we are taking care of Carl and Tammy’s animals while they are away and we invited friends that have no family here to come to Thanksgiving at "Grandma’s" too, Princess and I are taking our first trail ride Friday morning and we want to be rested, and the children are spending some time with Grandma and Grandpa Friday evening and we want all of them to be rested.  Not to mention I just spent about 16 hours in the car driving to Little Rock and back.  The thought of getting back in a car for a ride this soon does not thrill my back side. 

Shane’s Mom called last night and they have decided not to go either, so guess where we’re having thanksgiving dinner??? You got it! My house!  I’ve never hosted Thanksgiving, much less with 1 WEEKS notice.  So I’ve put together a menu.  Fortunately, Shane always smokes the turkey, so I won’t have to worry about that one.  Shane’s Mom and our friends will pitch in and bring things too.  Now we just have to figure out where to put everyone šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Surprise Thanksgiving

  1. Besides the hustle and bustle, I think it would be grand to spend Thanksgiving at HOME. We always go to either my folks or to my in-law's (we swap each year… Thanksgiving at one and Christmas at the other). I would love to build memories at my house with our children. But I really do appreciate the blessing of still having my parents and my in-law's around!

    I suppose it doesn't really matter where so long as we are all together. šŸ™‚

    Enjoy your Thanksgiving! And the great thing about last minute is that you don't fret about it for weeks on end.

    Love,
    Marsha

    Like

  2. Hey glad you checked out my blog! Thanks for the comment, I appreciate your stand and recognize that my position might be in the minority in conservative homeschool circles. I would like to just mention that I did say I don't think ppl should listen to just anything–I mentioned music that condones sin as being bad. But when it comes to good music, I think ppl from may different belief systems can make good music. True many songs by ppl like m&m and Ludicrous aren't good to listen to–but in the case of such songs as "Runaway Love" and "Mocking Bird" I think the world would be a better place if all Christians listened to those tunes. Just my thoughts.

    Like

Comments are closed.