Coconut Flour Results

Yesterday, I made Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies from the Cooking with Coconut Flour cookbook by Bruce Fife.  I was pleasantly surprised.  I did not know what to expect without gluten to hold the dough together.  It did call for 4 eggs and made 2 dozen cookies so that’s a lot of eggs.

The dough does have a mild coconut flavor.  The recipe was easy to work with.  Looked a lot like normal cookie dough when it was mixed.   The first batch I just plopped on the cookie sheet like normal.  And that’s how they looked.  They do not spread out like normal chocolate chip cookies.  After that batch, I molded them to more cookie shape and they looked good. 

They were quite tasty too.  The other thing I liked was that the recipe said makes 2 dozen cookies and it made 2 dozen cookies.  Most recipes get no where near the "makes ___ dozen cookies" 

Our gluten free friend that came for dinner last night thought they were wonderful and will be looking into this book for some more great recipes.  She said that when you’re gluten intolerant, looks don’t really matter so much as taste.  So the fact that the first batch looked kind of funny didn’t bother her one bit. 

It just dawned on me that I should have taken a picture of them… oh well… maybe next time.  I think I’m going to make them for our fellowship meal Sunday. 

Here’s the recipe if anyone is interested:

1/2 C butter, melted

1 C sucanat or brown sugar (I used brn. sugar)

4 eggs

1/2 t vanilla

1/8 t salt

1 1/2 cut flaked coconut (I used organic non-sweetened)

3/4 C chocolate chips

1 C sifted coconut flour

Mix together butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla, and salt.  Stir in coconut, chocolate chips and flour.  Drop (remember to shape instead if you want nice looking cookies) Drop batter in spoon size mounds 1 inch apart on greased cookie sheet.  Bake at 375 degrees for 14-15 minutes.  Cool slightly and remove from cookie sheet.  Makes about 2 dozen. 

3 thoughts on “Coconut Flour Results

  1. Okay, am I weird in that I had never even heard of coconut flour? Where do you get it from?

    I do love ze coconut though! My kids don't care for the chewiness of it.

    Like

  2. Hi,
    Thanks so much for your visit and your prayer. My husband was encouraged when I showed him the responses! I'm glad you found this recipe. I get the impression it's a real challenge to eat gluten-free.
    bethanyrae

    Like

Comments are closed.