A Jubilee

Shane decided that I needed to take a weekend getaway–just me.  He has been trying to convince me for years.  After a particularly rough day the week before last, I said yes.  So last weekend, I packed up and headed to Sedalia (home of the Missouri state fair).  I found this beautiful hotel.  And was able to stay 2 nights. The room was quite small (the original size of a hotel room in 1927 when the hotel was built), but it was perfect for my need.   He also wanted me to go to the spa, so I found this one.     I got in town Friday night and had a very nice dinner at the hotel’s restaurant, The Ivory Grille.  If you’ll click this page, you can see what I had for dinner– the Leola Chicken with a delicious salad and a scoop of cheesecake on a bed of chocolate crumbs with chocolate sauce over the top.  It was very tasty.  I washed it down with a glass of white wine from a local winery (hey I splurged). 

I was able to have some fabulous time reading through "The Calvary Road" by Roy Hession.  I highly recommend it.  It was a wonderful tool to use to get my focus back where it needs to be.  Saturday morning, I had a cup of coffee and orange juice, had some uninteruppted time with the Lord (boy that rarely happens at home), stopped at a thrift store on the way and then was at the spa at 11ish. 

WOW!!!!!  If you have never been to a spa,go!  Yes, it’s a very special splurge, but so worth it.  Dim lighting, a fluffy robe, and Okabashi thongs to wear while you’re there.  I had the "revitalize me" package.  A sea salt scrub, a 30 minute private jacuzzi tub (yes, a glass of complimentary wine) and and 60 minute massage.  After that I had a facial.  I was so relaxed by then, that I fell asleep.  Then I went to a late lunch and when I returned, I had a 90 minute pedicure.  My feet haven’t felt this smooth since I was 20!  Too bad the weather isn’t warm enough for my sandals yet– bright pink in honor of spring. 

Nearly every part of my body feels soft again.  

I went back to the hotel for some more time of reflection.  Went down to the restaurant again for some wonderful red velvet cake and coffee.  Then 30 minutes of HGTV.   Some more time with the Lord, then bed. 

I have never slept so good in a hotel. 

I got up Sunday morning and had some more time with the Lord.  Stopped by Starbucks on my way out of town and headed back to the real world.  Sunday our church celebrated it’s 10 year anniversary at a local gymnastics place.  I met everyone there. 

I’m already making plans for Princess and I to go in June for our birthdays.  We’ll just go down for the day though.  They have some great things for young ladies her age, and I’ll do the revitalize me package again. 

2 thoughts on “A Jubilee

  1. Sounds delightful! I've never done anything like that before ~ glad you got a chance to be refreshed!

    Blessings ~ Diane

    Like

  2. Sounds absolutely lovely! What a thoughtful husband you have!

    It's funny how my husband will make me get away sometimes– even when I won't admit that I need to. He can just tell my stress level after he's been gone a few days. Usually I'll just shop a little, read a book at Starbucks or visit a friend for a couple of hours.

    It is nice to truly be known by someone. I couldn't imagine life without my husband!

    You (and I) are very blessed.

    Love,
    Marsha

    Like

Comments are closed.