“I Can Help” and ERA

Back in 1975, Billy Swan wrote and recorded a song "I Can Help."  Here are the lyrics.  Keep reading for a couple of thoughts on this.

If you’ve got a problem, I don’t care what it is
If you need a hand, I can assure you this
I can help, I’ve got two strong arms, I can help
It would sure do me good to do you good,
Let me help

It’s a fact that people get lonely, ain’t nothing new
But a woman like you baby, should never have the blues
Let me help, I’ve got two for me, let me help
It would sure do me good to do you good
Let me help

When I go to sleep at night, you’re always a part of my dream
Holding me tight and telling me everything I want to hear
Don’t forget me baby, all you gotta do is call
You know how I feel about you, if I can do anything at all
Let me help

If your child needs a daddy, I can help
It would sure do me good to do you good,
Let me help

I’ve been thinking about these lyrics lately.  You see this song has special meaning to me.  My Uncle played the guitar solo in the middle of the song… sometimes I still hear it when I’m thrift shopping, sometimes other places too,  and have to stop and smile (of course, all the people around me probably think I’m wacked out–oh well, he’s my Uncle and I’m proud to claim him).   Chip Young– my Uncle

Shane has been working on converting cassette tapes to CD’s (yes, he’s starting a side business, he will also be able to do VHS to DVD, and hopes to be able to do super 8 to DVD, but that’s another story…). 

One of those tapes he’s converted for practice was a radio interview with Shane’s Mom on a local station in the 70’s, when the fight for the ERA ammendment was in full force.  I have been thinking about the irony of this song as it relates to ERA.  

This song was in Billboard’s #1 position for WEEKS, at the same time women were arguing for "equal rights" and burning their bras… Billy Swan was singing a HIT song about a man wanting to be a man and taking care of "his" woman.  Anyone else see the humor in this?

Some other little tidbits about my sweet Uncle.  He picked guitar for Elvis in his early days, and I’m nearly postive he played on every one of Elvis’s albums, he also played at the Grand Ole Opry in the earlier days.  When I was young, he owned the most beautiful antebellum home in Murfreesboro, TN and had his recording studio in the guest house for years.  "Dolly" thinks he’s the sweetest, and one of his closest friends is Jerry Reed.  At one event, my brother and I got to meet Ray Stevens, around the time of "The Streak" and we both thought it was the coolest thing in the world–he seemed to be a funny, funny man.  I almost got to meet Kenny Rogers (one of my all time favorite singers) because one of the guys working for him used to work in my Uncle’s studio.  I was backstage and LEFT– Oh have I kicked myself many times for missing that opportunity, but I did get to have a coke with Rudy Gatlin after that concert.    I also got to sit in on some of the sessions for Billy Swan’s next album (too bad he was a "one hit wonder") and he autographed the album after it was done … yep, I still have it.

And most important of all, his sweet wife’s Biblical example of a Godly woman (you know the one that lives it by example and not nagging), helped show him the need for a Savior and he’s now not only my Uncle but my brother in Christ.  (Very amazing since I used to run beer for him and my dad while they were working on the "farm" many, many, years ago)  God is so good!!!!!!! 

*** Funny, the pic on the header of my new template was taken at my Aunt and Uncle’s house a few weeks ago. 

One thought on ““I Can Help” and ERA

  1. Christine,
    I LOVE your template..I'm new to this but hope to learn to customize as well. Billy Swan…how cool..i loved that song back in the 70's. Praise God for your uncle's salvation!
    blessings~ Brenda

    Like

Comments are closed.