I Stand (Kind of) Corrected–

Imagine my surprise when I received an email in my inbox from the Director of Network Operations for BRN.  For a minute, I thought I was in trouble   But Eben was only clarifying my post on FCC reguations for Christian radio.  Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to make sure I have it right.  Here is Eben’s email in full:

I just saw your comment regarding Christian radio stations and requirements to run political ads. In a nutshell, here’s what the rules require; radio and television stations, Christian or not (unless they are non-commercially licensed), are required to run political ads from candidates for Federal offices (President/U.S. Senate/U.S. House). Below that level, it is up to the station as to whether or not they will take a particular race. However, if a station takes one candidate for mayor, state house, state senate, etc., they are required to make time available to sell to that candidate’s opponents, if requested.

 If a Christian station is licensed as non-commercial, they are not required to take ANY political advertising. Also, even commercially licensed stations can refuse issues advertising, let’s say, from a political action committee, about some kind of issue that is to appear on the ballot.

There are MANY more political rules, but what I mentioned above is what applies to the discussion on your Web site.

Hope this helps.

Bott Radio is comprised of commercial and non-commercial stations all over the country.   For those of you that may not know, a commercial station is one that can have "normal" commercials.  Commercial stations do not accept donations.  A non-commercial would be those stations that have sponsorships and often are "listener supported" but not always "listener supported." 

 I hope I have that close enough to right, it’s kind of freaky knowing your husband’s boss is reading your blog

