2 Years ago Today

I know this is my 3rd post today, but I could not let today go by without mentioning that 2 years ago today Sweet Cheeks came home from Liberia. 

Thinking back to how small she was and how sick she seemed to be.  How quiet she was… how tiny she looked as she was in the Snuggli on Shane’s chest as he walked out of the secure area at the St. Louis airport.   Then that first smile she gave me in the middle of the night as she was drinking her bottle.   How we didn’t really know what the future would hold for her.  

Well, we still don’t know what the future will hold for her, but she is certainly not struggling any longer.  And her trachea seems to be growing straighter, she eats everything in sight.  Is extremely opinionated and just as happy as ever, most of the time.  I’m so thankful for 3 before her, because I’m not sure I could keep up with her if it were just her and me… even if I was 10 or 15 years younger than I am.   I’m still looking for the "off" button. Oh yea, that happens when I put her to bed.  She rolls over and is promply sleep in about 2 minutes. 

We are so very blessed!

3 thoughts on “2 Years ago Today

  1. I still remember praying for her as you all dealt with a lot of nonsense to get her home. Praise God she is getting stronger and healthier! God is so good!
    Karen

    Like

Leave a Reply

