I Have A Dream…

You may notice that my last post is gone.  I have decided to re-write it because something that Shane keeps saying is burning in my mind. 

Martin Luther King gave a speech on August 28, 1963 that has gone down in history as one of the greatest speeches given in our time. 

"I have a dream"… but do you know what the rest of the lines say…

"I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character. "

My dear friends,  President Obama has been judge on nothing but the color of his skin.  His character has not been called into question. (and if it is, he  trumps with the "black" card.)   His white mother has not been talked about.  He has yet to even produce a certified birth certificate– which we all must produce to even get a passport in this country.  

Mr. President, you are not a man of character.  I so wish my choclate skinned sons could look at you proudly as a role model.  But alas, they cannot.  My children have been taught the value of life.  In fact, they are on this earth today because their birthmothers valued life enough to allow them to live instead of murdering them in the womb.  My children know that we should work if we are going to eat.  My children know that men do not belong in a "relationship" with men, nor do women belong in "relationships" with women.  Mr. President how many projects in our nations cities are filled with black people content to sit on their rear ends and get government checks for everything they need?  Hundreds of thousands?  Even FDR realized that men need to work.  Blacks sit in their crummy apartments in the projects,  complaining, but not willing to do anything about it.  (And yes I’ve been in several in Memphis and Birmingham). 

More from Dr. King’s speech:

"And when this happens, when we allow freedom ring, when we let it ring from every village and every hamlet, from every state and every city, we will be able to speed up that day when all of God’s children, black men and white men, Jews and Gentiles, Protestants and Catholics, will be able to join hands and sing in the words of the old Negro spiritual:

                Free at last! Free at last!

                Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!"

My friends, Dr. Martin Luther King  knew that there was ONE, True, Almighty God.   He also knew that we ALL needed to be together.  Not blacks for blacks and whites for whites. 

Personally, I do not feel that we’ve made much progress at all where Dr. King would have wanted to see progress. 

As a white Momma of what the world woudl call 4 black children, I have gotten strange looks, been questioned, and had the police called on me by black women!  This is reverse discrimination, and folks, it’s not any better than people discriminating against black people.  This is not what Dr. King wanted either– some Pastor (and I use the term loosely) praying "where yellow is mellow" and "red is whatever he said that rhymed"a crowd made of mostly black people applauding! 

I have said it before and been criticized for it "God don’t see no color"  I will stand by that!  When it comes to the color of a persons skin, it just doesn’t matter… just like it doesn’t matter if I have blue eyes, or brown eyes, or black hair or blonde hair.  Yes, God made the colors and we can appreciate them (my darling children have the prettiest skin colors ever) but we shouldn’t make that the determining factor on someone’s character. 

Character is not determined by one’s color of skin, Character is determined by the actions of the heart.     

Read the rest of Dr. King’s speech here and be amazed.

5 thoughts on “I Have A Dream…

  1. I'm sorry, but I just have to comment. I really can't believe you wrote this…"Mr. President how many projects in our nations cities are filled with black people content to sit on their rear ends and get government checks for everything they need? Hundreds of thousands? Even FDR realized that men need to work. Blacks sit in their crummy apartments in the projects, complaining, but not willing to do anything about it."
    So, white people don't sit on their "rear ends" and collect government checks? You obviously have never been in my neighborhood. Really, I'm in shock. What a horrible thing to say.

    Like

  2. In this particular post, I'm not talking about the white people sitting around on their rears collecting gov't checks– I know they do it too… and maybe someday I'll write about that.

    The message of this post was about how Martin Luther King's dream has still not been realized. I believe that by pointing out the astronomical number of black people in America that sit on their rear ends with an entitlement mentality is not what Dr. King was hoping for the day he delievered that historic speech in 1963.

    The same could apply to the white people that sit on their rear ends and collect from money from the government too… but that was not Dr. King's purpose that day.

    My blog, my thoughts, I'm not trying to force my thoughts on you, I'm just thinking out loud here. If you have a blog, please post your thoughts. For now, we still live in a free country…

    Like

  3. AMEN, AMEN.

    You've made some good points. And when you write about how the whites need to get up, I will say AMEN to that too.

    Like

  4. Yeah, I know this is a late comment, but I just found your blog through another blog.Do you really even read or watch the news? Barack Obama has NEVER played the race card. He has never hidden the fact that he had a white mother or that he was raised primarily by his white grandparents. You people make me sick with your thinly veiled racism. Stop believing the rhetoric of the extreme right and learn to think for yourself. You all who call yourselves Christians then blatantly tell lies are the worst of all.

    Your blog, your thoughts…whatever. You leave open the option to comment, and that's just what I'm doing. If you feel free to lie on YOUR blog, then you can certainly handle me expressing my opinion. Get a life and a clue. By the way, there's no such thing as "reverse racism"; racism is racism is racism. Black against white or white against black; it's still racism. Cry me a river. I am oh so sorry I ever followed the link to your blog and I'm oh so sorry there are people who subscribe to the ignorance you spew on this particular subject.

    Like

Comments are closed.