Healthy Eating

IF anyone is still reading me… since I seem to be sporadic at posting these days… I thought I would post a modified email in response to a new friend that has been asking me about healthy eating.  I by no means consider myself even close to an expert…these are just some things I’ve learned over the years that seem to work for our family.   My friend was surprised to find out that I served my family things like “sweet breads” and muffins.  So here is a modified response to my friends email…

When we just had Princess and Bubba, I usually did cereal or instant oatmeal
for breakfast almost every day.  As they grew, and as our family grew, 2
packs of instant oatmeal didn’t fill them and breakfast was getting
expensive.   Then a few years ago, we got rid of our microwave…yes, we are
VERY strange people! 🙂

I know there are many views out there on what’s healthy.  The internet is a
great way to research healthy eating.  There are several websites that I
searched in the beginning.  Marilyn Moll, the Breadbeckers, Sue Gregg,
weston a. price foundation, Above Rubies (Nancy Campbell)  BTW, she
is a FABULOUS Titus 2 woman.  So much good stuff from her in many areas!
And Leanne Ely (saving dinner) In fact some of our favorite recipes are from
this book.  Mercola (although he can be far fetched sometimes) and probably
many others…blogs included.

It does take a lot of time to figure out what works best for you… It has
taken me several years, and still I am learning and improving what I find
that I think is healthy, or worth the time, money etc.

I do for our family what works for us.  Others I know do other things.  Some say no/low fat, no
sugars, no dairy etc.  I have only recently started “healthy” eating,
meaning the last 5-6 years–when I discovered that many pesticides mimic
hormones and I was having hormone issues.  That’s where I started.  If we
had unlimited funds, I would shop mainly at natures pantry and whole
foods…but, because we don’t :), I do what I can.  (that’s why I really
like Trader Joes!  And hope we have one in the KC metro soon!)

Here’s the short story to my view of “healthy” As close to the way God
intended it to be.   Meaning butter, not margarine, raw milk  and organic
when it’s reasonably affordable.  Then “natural” I look for high fructose
corn syrup (HFCS), and soy and
avoid them if at all possible.  I read
labels!  I use Rapadura sugar, better than white sugar, or honey to sweeten,
most often, not even sure I have plain white sugar in our house right now.
On pancakes/waffles, we use maple syrup or log cabin (has no HFCS).

If I can make it, I know it is healthier than anything I can buy and I know
what’s in it because I put it there.  Like Catsup, and salad dressings.
It’s easy and doesn’t take much time, and it has no HFCS.  I use whole wheat
flour when making pancakes/coffee cake or muffins, and biscuits and since
wheat is heavier, it fills them up faster.  (trying to like whole wheat
pasta, but not sure about it…they children like it though)

I also think protein is very important, esp. for growing children …meaning
eggs and bacon, meats, avocados, nuts, etc.  In fact, I am convinced that
Sweet Cheeks eyesight and overall health improved so quickly because for the first 2 years home, she ate an over easy fried egg every night before bed
and avocados.  We buy our meat (most of it anyway) from the butcher in town.


I fix scrambled egg roll ups in tortillas with cheese, fried eggs,creamed
eggs over biscuits or toast… (boiled eggs chopped into a white sauce).  If
you’re not fond of pork, there is turkey bacon and sausage.  Some other
things I do for breakfast, peanut butter toast, and brown rice with maple
syrup.  I find that if we don’t eat meat at a meal, we’re hungry sooner for
the next meal.  I also avoid white rice where I can (meaning when I make
sweet and sour chicken, I serve white rice).  But white rice has little or
no nutritional value.

BTW, making chicken/beef stock is also very easy to do…just put your bones
in a pot of water and let them simmer all day…you can add
onions/carrots/celery too.  It makes a nice stock that is good for you.  I
freeze it in 4 cup portions.  It’s easy to make chicken or veggie beef soup
from there (water is another easy but important step in healthy eating….
water that has been through the reverse osmosis filtering system is best,
but any filtered water is better than what comes out of the faucet.  Most
grocery stores have re-filling stations where you take your gallon jug and
refill for less than 50cents a gallon).

I try to avoid GMSO foods (is that right? The ones that are genetically
modified).  And pesticides…esp. in fruit and veggies that are more likely
to contain more pesticides…I found the list online somewhere.  Things like
potatoes, apples (and we use no pesticides on our apple tree)  peaches,
lettuce, etc.  Some of these with a thicker skin is not as critical, like
bananas, avocados, kiwi.

We also let the children eat until they are satisfied.  That means that most
often they eat quite a bit, (esp. the boys), but it also means that if they
get full they leave food on their plate.  (We cannot feed the starving
children in Africa with the leftovers on our plate in MO) and there is no reason to force our children to overeating just because we don’t want to “waste” food.

If this is something that you feel you need to do, I would recommend
starting slowly… when I started menu planning, I just started with
dinners.  Then added other meals later.  Since you’re getting breakfast
ideas, you might start with breakfast?

Okay… that’s the short version hahaha!

One thought on “Healthy Eating

  1. I too am working on menu planning and healthy eating. It is a process and I know we have a ways to go. I like the beef stock/chicken stock idea. I'm making a chicken today, and will plan to make chicken stock!

    Like

Comments are closed.