Grand Re-Introduction

For those of you that don’t know, my husband is a senior account executive (fancy title huh?) for Bott Radio Network.  As part of his job, he is expected to attend area Chamber of Commerce events in order to generate leads for potential clients.  So when a company remodels, re-organizes, or re-structures, many times they will have what they call a “Grand Re-Opening”  Hence the title of this blog post.  I haven’t blogged regularly in quite a while, so I thought it would be good to re-introduce myself.

About 4 years ago a lonely home educating Mom living on 6 acres in a small town in Missouri needed to meet some people.  We had been out in the country for about 2  years and still really didn’t know anyone here.  We had been through alot, Shane had been preacher at a struggling church that finally closed it’s doors, we moved from the suburbs to the country, had trouble finding a church home, struggled with family members, and in general, it was just a hard time for me.

Life was HARD.  Although I knew God was there,  I was lonely for human fellowship.

Shane had recently started a blog.  I had NO idea what a BLOG was, wasn’t interested, didn’t have time, etc. etc. etc.  But finally over his week off work between Christmas and New Years, he convinced me I should try it.

It was love at first post!

I found a community of many like minded believers at HSB!  Many of them I still remain in contact with today, some of them I have met in person, and others I still long to meet in person.  But I am content in knowing that if I don’t meet these fantastic families in person on earth, we will spend eternity together worshipping our Lord, Savior and Almighty Creator.  Sorry for the bunny trail…

So, fast forward to today.  I have been posting on Facebook for over a year now, but  I have missed the blogging community.  Facebook seems very impersonal and shallow in some ways.  In others, it has allowed me to keep up with some family and friends that live far away.   But it just isn’t the same as blogging.

So here I am.  Back again.  Recommitting myself to blogging on a regular basis again.

Now for the short intro.

I am a person full of sin, saved by grace, believer of the Lord Jesus Christ!

I am married to the most wonderful, self-sacrificing, humble man a woman could have!  (Have no idea why he chose me though)

I am an adoptive, homeschool mom of 4 fantastic children.  (Princess 14, Bubba 10, almost 11, Foxboy 9,  Girlie  4 1/2) Yes, those of you that have been reading for sometime will notice that they younger two have new nicknames.  Little Bit just doesn’t work for a 9 year old, and while Sweet Cheeks is still that, it’s longer to type and Girlie fit’s her too.

I married a homeschool grad (here’s the previous post about it)

I live on 6 1/2 acres with my fabulous husband, 4 children, 3 dogs, 3 cats, 5 kittens (anyone need kittens?????), 2 hermit crabs, 17 hens, 1 rooster, and 4 rabbits.    One of my dear friends recently called our home a “farmily”  I like that…

I am a crunchy-conservative, but not to the extreme.  Where we can afford it I buy organic or fresh, I grind my own wheat and bake my own bread,  but I’m not a fanatic about it.   If I don’t have time I use store bought bread.

If you like Obama, reading my blog is not for you… no offense meant but you’ll want to move along now.

I am a southern girl transplanted to the midwest.  You can take the girl out of the south but you can’t take the south out of the girl.  The Rebel flag is GA’s state flag, therefore it should offend no one and does not offend me one little o’ bit.

I am pro-life, pro-adoption, pro-marriage (one man/one woman) pro-gun, and pro-American.  I support the military and thank them every chance I get for their sacrifice to keep our nation free.

I like sweet tea, and every soft drink is a “coke”  ya got a problem with that?

I hope you’ll enjoy reading my blog and I’m looking forward to making some new friends

To God be the glory, great things He has done…

Leave a Reply

