Unchangables

I have a great admiration for The Basic Life Institute and many of Bill Gothard’s resources.  I have grown greatly from the seminars he offers.  In the Basic Life Seminar, Mr. Gothard talks about the “unchangables.”  The unchangables are things that can not be changed.  Mr. Gothard talks about things like hair color, the shape of your nose, whether you have straight hair or curly hair.

However, it has recently been pointed out to me that there are other “unchangables”  in my life. Not things like hair color, or how tall I am, or what color my eyes are, but situations, choices others have made that affect my life intimately. Choices that have put me in a no win situation.

Most of these things that I can’t change affect my children even more than they affect me… and that’s what hurts even more…

2 Cor. 4:8  We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair;

However, I must say, at times I feel driven to despair…But God’s Word is true…and I will remember these verses when I feel overwhelmed.

Romans 8:35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?

2 Cor. 6:4 Rather, as servants of God we commend ourselves in every way: in great endurance; in troubles, hardships and distresses;

