President Reagan’s Favorite Mac and Cheese

I found this recipe many, many, many years ago in a red spiral bound, paperback cookbook that I picked up somewhere, probably a garage sale or thrift store, shortly after Shane and I were married.   It was called something like “Teachers in Space.”I think was meant to be a fundraiser for the newly developing  “Teachers in Space” program in 1984.   It  contained recipes from teachers around the country, including Christa McAuliffe, the teacher that perished in the tragic Challenger explosion.

 

Yesterday, the children  asked me to make the much loved dish for fellowship meal this Sunday.  I went to get the cookbook, but could not find it.   Panic set in and I turned the house upside down looking for it.  I have a terrible habit of carrying cookbooks all over the house while I’m menu planning or looking for new ideas.  Still…no cookbook.    This morning I recruited the boys.  We scoured the house for the “red cookbook, with the black spine.”  Still… no cookbook.  Sadness sweeps over our faces.  Yes, I think I can recreate the recipe so all is not lost (the secret is an egg and dry mustard), but I really do love that worn out and tattered book.

But then I remember my trusty computer with the all-knowing Google search bar.   Guess what?  Google found many sites with the exact recipe and others  with a tweaked version.

But the most important thing… I have the recipe!

Without further ado…

1/2 lb. uncooked macaroni

1 teaspoon butter

1 egg, beaten

1 t salt

1 teaspoon dry mustard

3 cups sharp cheddar cheese, grated (I use whatever I have on hand)

1 cup milk

Boil macaroni until Al Dente, and drain thoroughly.  Meanwhile, mix salt and mustard with 1 Tablespoon hot water (I use macaroni water)  and add to milk.  Stir in butter and egg into the macaroni.  Add cheese, leaving enough to sprinkle on top.  Pour into buttered casserole dish, add milk and sprinkle with cheese.  Bake at   350 for about 45 minutes or until custard is set and top is crusty. Serves 4. *

*I usually double this recipe, and it adapts well to a crock pot.

 

Needless to say it is one of our family favorites!   Although, I’m not sure it’s entirely healthy or even a little healthy,  it’s VERY good!

 

