Racist or Prejudiced????

It seems that since the Zimmerman verdict came down the word “racism” or “racist” has been thrown around by an awful lot of different people.  I have read several articles lately that have declared “we are all racist.”  I must say, that doesn’t sit well with me.

In fact, some of those articles are quite offensive to me.

One lady even made the statement that she didn’t want to hear about how you weren’t racist, because you’re basically lying if you say you aren’t!  That’s amazing insight, to have the mind of God so clearly that she KNOWS we are all racist!  Actually, it’s a bunch of malarky!  It takes a fantastic amount of arrogance to even make such a statement.

Would you like to know why?

Those people throwing around the word racist are using the wrong word.

Do you know what racist means?

http://www.dictionary.com defines  racist as:

“a person who believes in racism, the doctrine that a certain human race is superior to any or all others.”

Hitler was a racist!  The KKK was racist!  I’m sure there are others that would fit under that definition; however, you’re average man (or woman) on the street…not racist by this definition!

I believe the word most of these people want to use is prejudiced.  Again, from http://www.dictionary.com, here is the definition for prejudiced, and it has a much larger definition:

1.an unfavorable opinion or feeling formed beforehand or without knowledge, thought, or reason.

2.any preconceived opinion or feeling, either favorable or unfavorable.
3.unreasonable feelings, opinions, or attitudes, especially of a hostile nature, regarding a racial, religious, or national group.

Now we’re talking!

Everyone IS prejudiced.

We are prejudiced against many different things.  In fact, being prejudiced is not a bad thing!  I like the color pink (you could say I’m prejudiced against other colors).  I’m prejudiced toward my husband, and my children.  I happen to think mine are more wonderful than yours (and well I should because they’re mine).  I’m prejudiced against cooked carrots, I like mine better raw.   I also happened to be prejudiced against Pitbull dogs.  And German Shephards (I was attacked by one when I was little).

I’ll say it!

I am prejudiced against folks with multiple body piercings and tattoos, no matter what color skin they’re in.  If you look like a thug, you better believe I’m going to “pre-judge” you.  If you’re in the grocery store cursing worse than a sailor, I’m going to pre-judge you.  If you’re a young lady dressed inappropriately, I’m going to pre-judge that you want the attention that you’ve dressed to get.

I am not going to pre-judge someone ONLY because of the color of their skin!

I happen to personally and intimately know some FABULOUS people that have very brown skin…

I also happen to know some FABULOUS people that have not so brown skin.

I also happen to know some FABULOUS people with multiple piercings and tats.

Yes, there are people that are prejudiced against people because of the color of their skin, or because of their religion (mostly against Christianity), or because of nationality.  But I say that most people don’t believe they are superior to these groups, they just have a preconceived notion about them.

But let’s talk about that, shall we.  Blacks DO commit more crime than whites.  And not only blacks, but it appears that Hispanics do as well.  Read it here.    In other words, there is a reason people profile these people.  Forgive me, but a white person would be stupid not to be on alert.  (Especially if they’re in an area where the crime rate is high and the black folks look like thugs!).

Now, maybe I’ve got it wrong.

Ted Bundy looked like a nice upstanding decent man, and he did heinous things to women!

Most importantly I  believe people should be aware of their surroundings instead of walking around with my nose stuck in a phone! 

I believe prejudice is part of human nature.  I believe it’s part of how God made us.  He made us to be discerning.  He allows us to have different tastes and different preferences.  He allows us to be prejudiced.  In fact, we MUST be prejudiced.

We are to to be prejudiced towards those things that are lovely, excellent and praiseworthy among other things and prejudiced against evil.

2 thoughts on “Racist or Prejudiced????

  1. Stop being so cryptic. How do you REALLY feel? ^_~

    I agree with your post, though dictionary.com does say RACIST is a synonym of PREJUDICE. But so are BIAS and SLANT.

    The media often tries to redefine words, doesn’t it? Like GAY used to mean HAPPY. Now it’s trying to say PREJUDICE is RACIST! Ugh!

    Like

  2. that’s a new synonym. My 1991 Websters doesn’t have a synonym at all. Good example of subtle changes in values, etc.

    Like

Comments are closed.