With All My Heart

P31 OBS Blog Hop

First, hello to all the YES gals! Welcome to my blog! You will find a variety of topics here.  My thoughts on God, culture, country-living, adoption, and healthy living are some of the topics I have written about.  You will find that I have an opinion about many things, and am not afraid to talk about it.  Sometimes rather bluntly.  But in this culture, sometimes it takes blunt to get a point across.

You’ll find that many of the posts are several years old.  If you go back far enough you’ll get to read about the adoption story of all 4 of our children, and watch as the 4th unfolded while I was blogging.

For anyone else that just happens by my blog, I have recently begun an online bible study with proverb 31 ministries. The book is “What Happens When Women Say Yes to God”. I cannot tell you how much this study has already encouraged me! And it’s only the first week! It’s not too late for you to join!

I ended up writing a second post for the blog hop and you can find it here.

Now, after that long introduction, I’ll jump into why you’re here 😉

So, the topic that drew me for this weeks blog hop was:

    With All my Heart

I’m going to be painfully honest here.   When I first read the verse, the thought entered my mind that I wasn’t sure I knew, or had maybe forgotten, what that meant. But over the course of the week God has been gently reminding me what loving God with ALL of everything really means.

I have struggled with some health issues for several years, (low thyroid, low vitamin D, and hormonal imbalances) Sometimes I made slow progress sometimes, and other times the progress grew by leaps and bounds!

What happened during my most ill years was not pretty!

In fact, it had gotten so ugly that I wasn’t sure I’d ever find my way back to God.  I took control of everything and could not put my palms up for anything!

It’s by ALL of God’s grace that we survived those years!

Thankfully,  that season of life is a distant memory…and some of those memories are not very good.  But God used those years for His good and His glory!

So, back to the topic.  Loving God With All My Heart.

I have been pondering our verse this week.  Deut. 6:5  Love the Lord with ALL your heart, with ALL your  soul and with ALL your might.

I have capitalized the “ALL” because that word is so powerful and the entire verse hinges on that word, used 3 times in  a 16 word verse.

This verse is critical to saying yes to God.  When we love the Lord with our ALL, we are saying that we will stop relying on ourselves, that we will let go of our own control (WOW! that is a tough one for me), and that we will rely on God for the next step.  And, for EVERY step of our future in this life.

This means that the things He asks of us may be unpleasant.

This is what I don’t want to think about.

What if God asks me to surrender my husband, or my children? (I’ve had friends that have had to surrender both of these).  What if I have to surrender my country home that I LOVE?  What if I have to surrender my freedom for a time?  If I have an accident or illness?

This is where I have to trust in the Sovereignty of an ALL-mighty Savior, (yes, the ALL-mighty),  Creator, Giver and Sustainer of Life,  to do what  may not seem like the best for me,  from my eyes.  But I have to know that His eyes see Oh so many more things that I can even wrap my pinkie around.

I have to KNOW that truth!  I have to TRUST that truth!

A several years ago I heard about a lady that lost her husband suddenly during the Holiday season.  Her response to the situation, was that it was no surprise to God.  And she trusted.  This is not to say that she did not struggle, for I’m most certain that she did. This just meant that she KNEW that God had ordained her every step.  That God had ordained her husband’s every step.  And they were different.

Do you KNOW that God has ordained YOUR every step?  Do you know that nothing is a surprise to God?  Are you ready to give God ALL???

Giving it ALL to God is NOT easy, but the end result is so freeing…it takes the pressure off of us to control everything.    Another word for it is that word that many of us don’t like, in fact many abhor it, it’s submission…but that’s a post for another day…

11 thoughts on “With All My Heart

    • Thank you Heather! I’m really wanting to start blogging again, and thought the blog hop would be a great way to get there!

      Like

  1. Great blog!!! I, too, have a hard time letting completely go of control and giving it over to God. I don’t always know if I want to know what would happen if I didn’t take control myself, but then I think how freeing it would be! It’s definitely a work in progress for me! Thanks for sharing!!

    Kris Danko (OBS Small Group Leader)

    Like

  2. Pingback: Saying YES to God | Just a thought...

  3. Thank you for your post! I prayed today and asked The Lord to help me love him with all my heart and soul and strength. It is kind of scary thinking about submitting to Him …but your post encourages me to trust that He has our best interest at heart:)

    Like

  4. Love your post! With so many blogs to choose from on the hop, I am relying on my “instincts” to choose which ones to read and just now I kept hearing “21, 21, 21” so here I am! 🙂 I also have been dealing with some mysterious health issues for the past year and a half and it can definitely be draining. I pretty much lost most of last year and didn’t do very much but I’ve been better about living my life this year even though I still don’t feel “normal” yet. I’m also dealing with a decision (or maybe I just think there’s a decision there :p) right now that’s not necessarily pleasant and I need to remember that none of it is a surprise to God! Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: Radical! | Just a thought...

  6. Pingback: Walking in the Stubborness of an Evil Heart | Just a thought...

Leave a Reply

