What If We Were Real

There is a problem in the church at large when we can’t be “real” with each other.  I’m afraid that many have determined they must look perfect, even though there is NO way anyone can be except through the Cross of our Lord.  Sometimes those people hurt others. 

They judge,

They blame

They take no responsibility.

These people look down on those of us that are real. 

That have emotion.

That admit to sin in their lives.

We are commanded to bear one another’s burdens, yet, we still have people walking around not admitting to sin, never sharing in any way how they’ve ever sinned.  On the other side, we have folks that won’t share because they’ve been hurt, wounded, deep, to the core and they have retreated. 

The pain is too real

It is too raw

Those people may never come out of their closet.

And then there are those like me:

I have been hurt. 

It is raw.

The pain is real.

And yet I continue to share my heart, my sin, my pain. 

There are people who don’t want to hear it. 

Thankfully, I have a GREAT God, that accepts me for who I am.  Thankfully, we have a WONDERFUL church family that has seen some of my warts and love me in spite of them.  Thankfully, God has sent me an incredible group of women, some from all over the world that encourage, love and accept me (and many others) in the form of the Proverbs 31 OBS  #perfectlove.

They understand that not one person that has ever lived, except Christ and Him only has ever been perfect. 

They realize that sometimes our humanness overrules our godliness. 

Our human spirit stifles the Holy Spirit in us. 

Thank you Jesus!

What If We Were Real- Mandisa

Well, I’m tired of saying everything I feel
Like I’m supposed to say
I’m tired of smiling all the time
I wanna throw the mask away

Sometimes you just have a bad day
Sometimes you just wanna scream
Tell me I’m not the only one
Tell me that you feel just like me

We keep trying
To make it look so nice
And we keep hiding
What’s going on inside

But what if I share my brokenness
What if you share how you feel?
And what if we weren’t afraid of this crazy mess?
What if we were real? What if we were real?

I’m over hiding my tears
I think I’m gonna let ’em go
I’m over acting so strong
When I ain’t even in control

We make it so complicated
But why does it have to be?
Why can’t we open our hearts
And let everybody see?

We keep trying
To make it look so nice
And we keep hiding
What’s going on inside

But what if I share my brokenness
What if you share how you feel?
And what if we weren’t afraid of this crazy mess?
What if we were real?

We’d think a little less of ourselves
We’d care about somebody else
‘Cause we’d know just how they feel

Maybe we could let someone love us
Maybe we’d be a little more like Jesus
Why can’t we learn to be real?

We keep trying
To make it look so nice
And we keep hiding
What’s going on inside

But what if I share my brokenness
What if you share how you feel?
And what if we weren’t afraid of this crazy mess?
What if we were real?

Just meant to be real
Just meant to be real
Just meant to be real
Just meant to, just meant to

 

Songwriters
MORGAN, CINDY / GLOVER, BEN / MADISA,

 

Published by
Lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC

7 thoughts on “What If We Were Real

  1. I have often thought that one problem with the church today is that everyone comes in with their masks on. We never share what is really happening in our lives. Therefore, people come to church and they see ‘perfect’ people and feel they can’t live up to that and they give up on the Christian life.
    We all need to share our struggles and the our triumphs. Then people will witness the victories and be encouraged with their own struggles.It would also help us pray for one another more … which would be a great help to each of us!

    Like

  2. I love this song. You are right many church memer walk around like everything fine and they never make a mistake. If we were real we can help each other through the tough times.

    Like

  3. I have found a few problems with this in Church. I am a very transparent person but that has worked against me for a few reasons – 1. not everyone wants to hear my problems and consider it TMI, 2. many who ask how I am, are not genuinely interested – How do I know? Because they don’t take the time to listen to the response, 3. many are gossips and slanderous (I’ve been ruined by this one,) 4. I’ve lost friends when I shared things like my fears and doubts, or when we walked through acute poverty. I truly long for a community where I can be me and be loved. I have not found it yet, except for on-line.

    Like

Comments are closed.