Five Minute Friday-Reflect

I’m a day late to the Five Minute Friday party.

We have a busy weekend.  Our church hosted its annual Talent Show and Sampler last night.  I was in charge of the event, so extra stress there.   Hannah, Tabitha and Shane left a few minutes ago to take Hannah to college to prepare for their Winter Recital tonight.  Tabitha’s going Christmas shopping with Daddy after they drop her off.

So the boys and I are at home by ourselves for a while…awwww the quiet.

Well, you probably don’t care about our busy weekend, so I’ll get right to the word of the week:

REFLECT.

Time starts now:

This is the time of year when many people are tied up in the busyness of the season, so this word seems appropriate right just now.

It is also the time of year many Christians set aside to reflect on the birth of Christ.  For years we have done a family advent; and this year is no exception; however this year I’m also doing Good Morning Girls advent study.  It has caused me to pause for a few minutes every day and reflect on the birth of Christ.

A couple of things have stood out to me this week as I’ve reflected on the verses these ladies have put together, and I’d like to share them with you today:

Isaiah 60:19-20  says that there will be no more light by day nor for brightness shall the moon give you light.  but the LORD will be your everlasting light and your God will be your glory.

That made me take pause.

There will be no SUN or MOON in eternity because we will have the SON, who gives all the glorious light we will need.   In addition, the SON can be my light and glory even now, through the doldrums of everyday life because of the Holy Spirit living in me.

I don’t have to wait for eternity!

The 2nd thing, is the fact that the promise was made to ME, a Gentile, over 2000 years ago.  Over 2000 years ago, I was in his PLAN, and you were in His plan.  Isn’t that amazing?  That God would make a promise to those who have no direct blood relation to Jesus the Messiah?

STOP (can’t, gotta finish this thought)

Isn’t it amazing that He would choose us BEFORE the foundation of the world?

May God bless you with His peace this season through the hope of the coming Messiah.  Praise be to the Lord God Almighty forever and ever.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday-Reflect

Comments are closed.