Is God #Enough????

P31 OBS Blog Hop

Hello Proverbs 31 Ladies!  I love blog hop day.  I will miss all of you while we’re away.  I’ll take this opportunity to wish each of you a very Merry Christmas and a blessed New Year.  May the Lord bless you and keep you and make His face to shine upon you until we meet again.

I’m going to be honest here, I haven’t finished reading the chapters for this week yet, but this topic is drawing me, so I’m stepping out and writing on it anyway.

Is God enough?

From my perspective, sometimes, God is NOT enough.  This is evidenced when I do things MY way.  I argue with Him.  I fight back.  I don’t allow His Holy Spirit to work in my life; I try to force my human spirit to control things…

And then I fall.

Sometimes God gives me grace and I fall softly.

But sometimes I fall HARD!

It is then when I realize that God is ENOUGH.

He is big enough.

He is strong enough.

He KNOWS enough (in fact, he knows everything).

I’m sitting here thinking of the dream that God gave my husband about our oldest daughter almost 17 years ago

…these HUGE, Warrior type arms handed Shane a bundle…

Here’s my thought,

God’s arms are much HUGE-R, BIGGER, and MIGHTIER than what I imagine those warrior muscles were on the angel in Shane’s dream.

photo credit:  http://shop.builder.hu/cikkek.htm4?id=603

Now imagine even bigger,

multiply it by infinity

and you have God’s muscles.

Yeah, I think muscles that are infinitely bigger than I can ever imagine can carry me through my human stupidness.

When I stop and think about it, I wonder how I can even DARE to question the God that created me, the God that created all things…

“When I am empty, it is enough.”

Nancy Sheppard Missionary, Liberia, West Africa

When I am empty of

My thoughts

My ways

My pride

My selfishness

My anger

My frustration

My humanness

It is enough.

Because then God, by his Holy Spirit can come in and fill me to overflowing with his grace, his mercy, his peace, his patience, his love, his joy, his kindness, his gentleness, his self-control, in other words, he can fill me full of Him.

pitcher pouring water

photo credit:  http://joyfuljourneyministries.com/

And then I am full.

Oh Lord God in Heaven, I pray that I will submit myself to your will.  I pray that I will allow you to empty me of myself so that you can fill me of YOU!

6 thoughts on “Is God #Enough????

  1. I enjoyed reading your blog today and that beautiful writing about when we are empty. And so true and “then I fall”, but I am learning my falls are very short in duration now. I have found He is ENOUGH and how he’s shown me that this year in all His glory and love. Thanks for sharing. Debbie W. (OBS Facebook Group Leader)

    Like

  2. He is absolutely enough to fill us! Your writing is filled with beautiful reminders. Thank you! I hope you have a very Merry Christmas and a fabulous New Year!

    Like

Comments are closed.