Five Minute Friday- Fight

It’s January and I’m so glad to be back at blogging.  Five Minute Friday’s are encouraging to me.  Especially this week, when my dear husband joined me.  Most of the participants are ladies, but he braved the hormones and dived in, and wrote an excellent post!

So, here are the rules.  Write for 5 minutes on the word Lisa Jo posts and stop at 5 minutes (or there about).  Visit the post before you and leave a comment.

FIGHT

1 Timothy 6:12 kept coming to mind, but I wasnt’ sure which direction it would take.  When I pulled up the verse to post it here, it came to me.  (Isn’t God amazing?)

“Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called and about which you made the good confession in the presence of many witnesses”

Over the years, I’ve had several friends that have lost loved ones.  Some children, some young children, some, not as young.  Some have lost their husbands, some their wives.

These are situations involving deaths that we would not consider “normal”  a 3-year-old, a 16-year-old, a 40-year-old among them.

One thing all of these folks that are left behind to mourn all have in common.  FAITH to continue fighting the good fight.  In each of these situations I’m thinking of, the parents, the spouse cling to Christ in the midst of their mourning.

I’m not saying that they never have moments of pain and anger, I’m certain they do!  I am saying these friends understand God’s complete sovereignty and even if they don’t understand why their loved one had to leave this earth out of the course of the normal process of what we think life should be., they trust God.

Over the years, these people have all encouraged  me as I see them trust in the sovereignty of God in the midst of their mourning.   These friends are holding on to the eternal.  Focusing on the future glory that will be revealed, rather than the loneliness of empty arms, empty beds, empty places at the table.

I am so thankful for the faith, for the fight, of those friends that encourage me in their grief.   God bless them…

STOP

One thought on “Five Minute Friday- Fight

Comments are closed.