Delighting in Obedience

P31 OBS Blog HopHello Ladies!

This has been a CRAZY week!

Shane had an elders meeting Monday night, and Hannah had rehearsal for Much Ado, and in anticipation of the expected snow, we made arrangements for her to stay on campus- and, she’s still there. We’re picking her up today after her rehearsal for a small Hamlet play she’s in as part of her Acting II class.  Yes, it seems to be Shakespeare semester.

Snow fell Tuesday. The temperatures have been so cold that the road treatment isn’t working to well, so the roads are still pretty snow covered. (My phone says -1 right now where I’m at).

Honestly, this is almost something I’m not sure I want to write about because the last couple of days I haven’t done so well. After a few days with family, we picked up Church’s Chicken Sunday night on the way home. I made country fried steak and mashed potatoes for dinner Tuesday night (an overdue request from my darling) and beef lo mien last night.

My goal is to eat one serving and leave something, even one bite, on my plate.

Honestly, Monday I didn’t do terrible I ate leftover chicken while the 3 children ate Taco Soup. However Tuesday I ate more that one serving, I have a very hard time resisting mashed potatoes and gravy! Yesterday- the same, not to mention the leftover country fried steak and potatoes that called to me during the day.

I am also doing the Good Morning Girls study on being intentionally focused. I am amazed at how well these two studies are dove-tailing with each other.

One of the verses from GMG today was 2 Corinthians 10:4.  It says:
For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh, but have the DIVINE power to destroy strongholds!

Food is a stronghold for me, especially country fried steak, fried chicken and anything pasta!

But this verse tells me, that I have DIVINE power from the holy God that created the universe and all that is in, it to battle those whispers of “ohhhh those mashed potatoes are so good, just one more bite won’t hurt.”. “Lo Mien isn’t very filling, certainly a second bowl will be ok” that Satan throws me!

God is amazing! Giving us grace in our weakness to allow us a fresh start and that’s where I am today.

Starting fresh to take every thought captive and make it obedient to Christ.

Starting fresh to stop at one helping of Carolina Crock Pot pork tonight for dinner.

Starting fresh to cling to Christ when I want to cling to that leftover lo mien in the fridge.

Starting fresh where I’m at- clinging to Christ in my weakness. Letting Him be my DIVINE power in my fleshly weakness, allowing Him to be my focus and where I run when I’m wanting to listen to that little,annoying voice from the evil one.

.. I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. Phil 1:6

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

4 thoughts on “Delighting in Obedience

  1. I appreciate your openness and admire the way you lay it all out there. You are so right about our God, He is faithful and His promises are real. His mercies are new every morning.
    Keep sharing!

    Like

Comments are closed.