Soul-filling Satisfaction

"P31I’m blog hopping again today with Proverbs 31 ministries and the Made to Crave study.

I was not satisfied with this post, so I revamped it a little…much better, I think 🙂

For he satisfieth the longing soul, and filleth the hungry soul with goodness. (KJV)

What is soul-filling satisfaction?

How does He fill my hungry soul?

I like the word goodness.  It means:

virtuousness: personal virtue or kindness

God is FULL of goodness.  In fact, He is really the ONLY truly good thing.

He satisfies when we can find no other satisfaction.

So many empty souls don’t know the Messiah.  They search and search for what they think are good things to fill that void.  Their “good” thing looks much different that my good thing.  In their good thing they think they are getting freedom,  sex, drugs, alcohol, they buy things thinking that will fill the empty place.  They busy themselves with things to keep their minds occupied, but the truth is, they are empty.  They have no freedom, they are bound by their sinfulness, by their refusal to acknowledge their need for something bigger than themselves and they are miserable while on the hunt to fill the empty place.

The ONLY good thing that can fill that void is Christ.

But believers too seem to be empty, longing, hungry for that deep soul filling satisfaction at times.

The Israelites were God’s chosen people, yet they could not fill their soul with the good of God.

David, the man after God’s own heart was an adulterer and murderer.

Abraham offered his wife as a someone other than who she was– TWICE.

In fact, all of those we call heroes of the faith had major character flaws!

It seems they could not allow God to fill their soul with good things.

And often times neither can I.

I have been one of those empty, hungry souls, both before God’s call and after…

Why is that?

According to dictionary.com, the definition of satisfies is the following:

1.  to fulfill the desires, expectations, needs, or demands of (a person, the mind, etc.); give full contentment to: The hearty meal satisfied him.

2.  to put an end to (a desire, want, need, etc.) by sufficient or ample provision: The hearty meal satisfied his hunger.

(I do think it’s interesting that both of these definitions references hunger).

When I read my body and I eat what my body craves (instead of whatever is easily accessed).  When I stop at the place of satisfaction and contentment, I am at peace.  I am not miserable because I ate too much, or because I just filled the empty hole with whatever was easy. I am satisfied.  I am content.  I am amply provided for.

I’ve been doing pretty well with this as far as eating goes.   I only wish I could do this well with the rest of life.

Oftentimes, I put my own expectations on the way things should be.   I think I  know the mind of God better than God knows his own mind.

Please tell me I’m not alone.

I get so caught up in the frustrations of the world.  So caught up in the person (or people) that offended me, or children that are doing their own soul-searching themselves, or frustrated because my email program is not working from my computer and I am forced to use my phone exclusively and that limits what I can do…and tired of wasting time on it.

I forget my expectations should be in what God wants for me and from me,

Period.

Then I remember that I will NEVER be satisfied on this earth.

I am a  wanderer on this earth that is a barren wasteland, much like the desert.   I am a resident alien.

My expectations will never be met in this lifetime because I will not be completely sanctified until I am face to face with my God and Savior.

Yes, once again it goes back to the fact that  I am a sinful creation, in need of the only Savior.

I can try, and I often do this in my own power, even though I know the Holy Spirit is there willing to intervene.  I can beg.   I can plead.  But this world belongs tot he evil one.  And he lurks around like a roaring lion ready to devour!

DEVOUR!
to swallow or eat up hungrily, voraciously, or ravenously.

2. to consume destructively, recklessly, or wantonly: (dictionary.com)

Do you get that?

He wants to DESTROY me!  (and you).

But you see, he’s forgotten the end.

The end is

God wins

He has already taken my sin, the sin that keeps me from consistently filling my soul with his goodness.

Yes, once again it goes back to the gospel.

It is impossible to please God in and ourselves.

Just like the Israelites, we’re still faithless.

But the soul-filling satisfaction comes from knowing that when we fail; when we grieve the Holy Spirit with our words and actions toward others, He has already forgiven.

p31forgiven
I believe this is the goodness spoken of in Psalm 107.

The goodness of Christ, who has taken my sins to the cross.

The goodness of the Holy Spirit that pricks my soul when I sin, so that I will run to the cross of Christ for forgiveness.

And the goodness of God, who in his ultimate love for me, sent his only begotten son to live a perfect life, without sin for me.

Praise be to God, that knowledge is what satisfies my soul!


3 thoughts on “Soul-filling Satisfaction

  1. Christine, what your wrote “Oftentimes, I put my own expectations on the way things should be. I think I know the mind of God better than God knows his own mind”. is like you were reading my soul. I feel this way so much. I forget that God is truely the one and only that can satisfy my thoughts, my concerns my expectations. And while we are here on this earth we will struggle with this. Not just me and not just you but all Christians until we are brought together again with the one who can truely satisfy. Thank you for the reminders and for being open. Your

    Like

  2. Wow I love your post…yes I too have my own plans and set myself up for failure because I look to my own expectations not that of my heavenly father. I am taking my plan for health and wellness one day at a time…some days are better than others!

    Like

Comments are closed.