FMF- Release

If you don’t know what FMF (Five Minute Friday) is, click here.

5 Minutes starts NOW.

Release.

Relax.  Let Go.  Be Still and know that I am God.  (John G. Elliot)

I have found myself in the place of self pity once again.

Last week.

I was a mess.

You see I had forgotten once again, that God’s mercy is great enough.  Big enough.

The never ending mercy in Christ Jesus.

I’ve been reading You Are Loved with the Good Morning Girls study this summer. This week’s chapter was exactly what I needed.

I needed to be encouraged to refute Satan’s lies.  After all He is the FATHER of lies and he will stop at nothing to bring me down.  He will stop at nothing to bring God’s chosen people down.

Lamentations 3: 23 esv

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;[a]
    his mercies never come to an end;
23 they are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.

Do you know what that ultimate mercy is?

One definition of mercy includes “a situation that provides relief or prevents something unpleasant from happening.”

The ultimate unpleasantness is eternal damnation.

The ultimate mercy is Christ taking my sin (and yours) upon himself and carrying them to the cross so I (and you) can have eternal life.

STOP

Earlier this week I wrote out an index card.  I took a picture of it to post here this morning.

live in God's love

This is my reminder to release myself; to run to him and rest in his mercy.

 

6 thoughts on “FMF- Release

  1. I came here from your comment you just left me. I love this!
    You said it so much better than I, maybe because I’m still actively angry while trying to resist! Your words comfort me. Thank you and you are in my prayers.
    Blessings.

    Like

    • Andrea, if you’ll read back, you will find posts where I talk about how angry I was in the past about my circumstances. . The skinny…I missed much of my olders childhood because my hormones were WAY out of whack…seriously I don’t remember many of the memories they have AND I was not a very nice person then either. I said and did ugly things to them and my hubby. I still don’t understand why God allowed it, I wanted to be a wife and mother all my life. But I am beginning to see some small glimpses of how God used it for His glory. I pray that you’ll look back one day and have an understanding of it all…and that you will be able to release your anger to the Father.

      Like

      • Oh I did that for about 5 months several years ago … when my hormones got out of whack! This anger is due to cancer and the disappointments that come with that … if you read back in mine you’ll see much of anger for other reasons and how I managed that! LOL. Thanks for you support and I will be reading back on yours.

        Like

  2. This is awesome– true examples of finding hope amidst discouragement and disappointment in HIM.
    Thank you for sharing your index card! I may borrow the idea!

    Like

    • Meredith, feel free to borrow my idea! I’m sure it’s not original to me but I’ve been putting notecards since God called me 23 years ago, so I don’t remember where I got the idea. Memory verses, quotes, thoughts I want to focus on…my husbands Uncle got a kick out of the “dripping faucet” card not long after I married my husband and they visited 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.