A GREAT Read! Fly a Little Higher

Oh my word! I laughed, I cried, I felt pain and joy while reading this book.

“Fly a Little Higher” by Laura Sobiech is the story of her son Zach. A young man whose life was way too short by worldly standards but who lived his short life with gusto, joy and contentment- even in the midst of terminal bone cancer. He found the joy in the pain.

Mrs. Sobiech expresses her words beautifully. I feel like I was sitting in her living room for a friendly chat with an old friend. Spattered between the stories of her sons amazing life, she share her innermost feelings and fears as she watches her precious son, as the diagnosis comes, as the treatment comes, as the news comes that Zach will die from this ravaging disease.

She shares Zach’s  joy in the midst of his everyday life as he struggles to live when he knows he’s dying.  He gave joy to all he met and thousands he never had the opportunity to personally meet in his lifetime. She gets to the nitty gritty.  She talks about the struggles her and her husband had, the struggles her children had and the struggles that his girlfriend had.  As a side note, his girlfriend came into the relationship well into Zach’s diagnosis.

Finally, she shares the struggle in releasing her son to the precious hands of God.

God blessed Zach with a lifetime in 18 years. Maybe you’ve heard of his song, “Clouds”. I guess I’ve been under a rock because I had not before reading this book.   It is a wonderfully uplifting song and the story of Zach is definitely worth reading!


 

I received this book to review free of charge from booklook bloggers.
One thought on “A GREAT Read! Fly a Little Higher

  1. A wonderfully written review! Not all stories have fairy tail endings, this one was a triumph of the human spirit. If you like these types of true stories, I recommend reading “I Will Praise You in the Storm, The Story of Stephen and Holly Deaubé, a Journey of Faith. It is on BookLook, and I would be delighted if you would give an honest review

    Dan Deaubé

    Like

Comments are closed.