Baby Hold On…Five Minute Friday

I’m linking up with Kate a day late.  The rules are here if you want to join in.  

This week’s word is Hold.

Start:

The first thing I thought about was Eddy Money’s song Baby Hold on to Me.  It has been a while since I heard it, so I looked at the lyrics.

Baby hold on to me
Whatever will be, will be
The future is ours to see
So baby hold on to me

Baby, what’s these things
You’ve been sayin’ about me
Behind my back
Is it true you might want a better life
Is it true you think
These things are lies, now
Think about it baby
I’m gonna take you to the top

Chorus

Hey-ey baby
You know the future’s lookin’ brighter
Every morning’ when I get up
Don’t be thinkin’ ’bout what’s not enough, now baby
Just be thinkin’ ’bout what we got
Think of all my love, now
I’m gonna give you all I got

Chorus

Oh-oh, rich man, poor man, now
Really don’t mean all that much
Mama’s always told you, girl
That money can’t buy you love

I listened to this song multiple times growing up;  this is the standard of the world then and this was the standard of the world today.

Happy comes from life’s circumstances, not from a constant.  The song is about being happy because of a relationship with a sinful person, not from the Creator of the person.

It is a very turbulent relationship.  Nothing constant, rolling about like the wind, or waves of the sea.

Happy?

Only if everything’s going well.

Not happy if everything isn’t.

Now, this doesn’t mean I can’t hold on to relationships.  I can.  In fact, God tells me to hold on to my husband.  We made a covenant “til death do us part” but this is not the tightest relationship.  While being committed, exhibiting Christ and the church, we still hold on loosely because we don’t know God’s ultimate plan.

We hold on to our children.  We teach them about life, about God, about relationships.  They grow up and we let go, but not totally.  The relationship changes; but hopefully we still love and respect each other and have a loving adult relationship throughout our lives.

We hold on to friendships.  We nuture, we protect.  We grow.  But again, not too tight

So what do we hold on to?  We hold on to the gospel.  Christ”s life

STOP.

Christ’s perfect life.  Christ’s suffering.  Christ’s death.  Christ’s resurrection.  And we rejoice that by His grace we are saved.  We hold on to that only constant in our lives.  There are no guarantees.  Death comes, children die.  relationships change.  Ugly happens.  But God…Christ…and the Holy Spirit.  They never change.

Hold on to that.

2 thoughts on “Baby Hold On…Five Minute Friday

Leave a Reply

