Messy Beautiful Love- A Book Review {Day 16}

31 days blog button 4

Oh y’all!  Yesterday was SO MUCH FUN!!!! If you haven’t read it yet, please do!  (And PLEASE comment too!  There were many more visitors than comments yesterday :). Picture in your mind a near 50-year-old woman, dressed in bright yellow, and turquoise jumping up and down! Ok, well not quite jumping; more like this:

blog me excited

But today is a different day, and I just finished an EXCELLENT book I want to tell you about.  It’s called Messy Beautiful Love: Hope and Redemption for Real-Life Marriages by Darlene Schacht.  You may have heard of her, she blogs at Time-Warp Wife.  She also co-wrote a book with Candice Cameron-Bure.  I got this book for free from BookLook Bloggers to review…if you have a blog, you may want to consider signing up.  There is no compensation, other than a free book, that you choose, and no requirement to post a positive review.  Just a requirement to post a review if you want more books.  You can click on the button on my side bar for more information.

And yes, it ties in to the Family and Friends theme of the 31 days I’m writing, because hopefully  (if you are married), you are married  to your husband, and not only that but you are friends with your husband.   If you’re not, then honey, we NEED to talk!

blog messy beautiful love pic

I have been married for 20 years and have read many marriage/relationship books in that time. This one is at the top of my list for solid, real-life wisdom and encouragement for marriages of all kinds, those that are great and those that are struggling. I can see myself highly recommending it to friends and gifting it to newlyweds (and maybe not so newlyweds) in the future.   In fact, this book is not only good for marriages, but the counsel Darlene gives is good for relationships of all kinds.  I found myself thinking about relationships with other family members as I was reading most of this book.

Darlene starts the book with telling us how close she got to losing her marriage.  And it was HER fault. Well really, it was her actions; but then she tells us how God redeemed it.  Darlene’s writing style is easy to read AND she gets her point across without beating anyone up.  She also knows how to use humor very well. I found myself laughing out loud several times as I was reading this book.

The “moral of the story” is that “grace is for sinners” page 12 and we are all sinners! She demonstrates this grace throughout the book. Chapters include discussions of wisdom, Proverbs 31 (and she tells us that it’s not only okay to NOT be that woman, but that we NEVER will be, but we are to strive for it). She talks about stepping back so our husbands can lead and is adamant that we are NOT second class citizens because we are women. There are many one liners that are amazing thoughts. My book is underlined, marked up and circled all over the place. She reminds us that if we have a great husband, (and I do), and are comfortable in our marriage, we have “the opportunity to be lazier than I should be. In other words, there’s a temptation to take his love for granted.” Which one of us has EVER done that? Yep, guilty as charged!

I love the one paragraph challenges Darlene gives at the end of each chapter. They are designed to help you grow and are not beyond the grasp of reality. Like the challenge on page 95 relating to the chapter on handling conflict wisely, “Learn to follow the voice of wisdom and tune out the cries of the flesh” She expounds on it a little, but each challenge is do-able and realistic.

The last chapter leaves us with the challenge to pray for our husbands every day. She lists “31 prayers for our marriage” along with the Scripture reference for each. Then she directs us to her website where we can download cute little prayer cards with the same verses for free that we can print out and have for our personal use. Again, I highly recommend this book for anyone in any relationship, which means it’s good for everyone!

**I received this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for my review. I am not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed whether good, bad, ugly or pretty are my own.  This disclaimer is here per government regulations.

