31 Day Favorites {Day 17}

31 days blog button 4

I’m so loving this 31 day challenge.  I’ve not only enjoyed  the challenge of writing, for it,  but I’ve also enjoyed reading some of the other blogs. This one has probably been my favorite,  31 Days of Sentimental, Silly, Sweet, and Sometimes Sappy 70’s Songs.  The 70’s happens to be the exact time I was growing up in my little corner the universe. It’s been fun to be reminded of some of those oldies, but goodies from my era.  Some I love, others I had forgotten about and there have even been a  couple that I had never heard before.   Kim and I have decided that we are kindred spirits…confirmed when we both admitted to being HUGE  Barry Manilow fans.  Now y’all know my dirty little secret, lol.  The truth is out, I’ve come clean and feel better for it.  Y’all, feel free to tease me about it, I don’t care.  I’ve been a Barry fan for a VERY long time.  He’s probably been in my life longer than you’ve been in my life.  I was in my teens when I went to my first Barry concert.  Then was blessed to go again with my friend Amy in Memphis when I was in college.

He’s just one of  the BEST entertainers ever! After showing Hannah the video below, she even had to agree that he is an entertainer extraordinaire!  Although I doubt I’ll get her to a Barry concert any time soon.

The day Kim posted Barry, I found this fun video, although I admit, I’m not that big of a fangirl!

How can you not just  love this lady!

While I’m at it, I’ll admit to being a GREAT Neil Diamond fan too.  And then Kim and I discovered that we grew up just miles down the road from each other in East Tennessee.  How FUN is that????

I’ve also greatly enjoyed reading Robyn’s blog 31 Days of our Adoption Adventure.  Robyn has an excellent way of keeping her readers on the edge of their seats.  We’ve just met their 3rd birth-mother and she is expecting TWINS!  And both her and her husband have felt that they would adopt 2!  Yes, folks I’ve got the feeling that the third time is the charm.  Robyn is very transparent and expounds on the ups and downs of these closed doors with grace while sharing her heart freely.  I LOVE that!  I can hardly wait to see where this leads–I LOVE “Awesome God’ stories, especially when it involves adoption.

And how could I leave out my in real life friend Melinda’s blog about Random CIA facts.  Her Uncle was a REAL LIFE CIA agent who was probably killed in the line of duty when Melinda was a little girl.  Fascinating reading.  Especially in our home that is filled with children with huge imaginations and a daddy that feeds that imagination by telling the children that he’s secret CIA and elaborates about making  his connection or meeting his contact, while we’re, well anywhere, slow moving car behind us?  Shane’s connection, fast moving car going around us, “didn’t you see?  I made the drop,” suspicious character in the line at Wal-mart…oh watch out, he’ll come up with a magnificent story about him!  He’s teased the children for years about it, yes…just teased, NO, Shane is not CIA, but it’s one of those memories we’re making with the children, something that they hopefully won’t forget and will always bring a smile to their face as they grow older.   Isaac was also very interested in spy gadgets when he was younger and would ask for spy gear for holidays.   But Melinda has a REAL true life story here and it’s been great fun to read about the wall, and the spy gadgets.  Now, I want to go to the International Spy Museum if we ever make it to D.C.!

There’s this one  with 31 days of recipes with food from Aldi.  Aldi is one of my stores, so I am interested in her recipes.  Some of the recipes are simple dips and others are more elaborate, like shrimp scampi.  It’s been fun to pop in and see what she’s offering.  And this blog from Cindy Swanson on Aging Gracefully. I especially liked day 1 about being joyful.

I’ve read bits and pieces of others that I have enjoyed; but don’t feel a special connection with, and saw others that I just knew wouldn’t be a match (like anything organizational–kudos for those gals, but I’m that’s just not me folks).  And that’s perfectly OKAY!  That’s the beauty of humanity, we all have different personalities, different perspectives and different things in common and many things not in common; even among those that are sisters in Christ.  Others yet, I’ve read thinking that I would enjoy them greatly and after reading them a few days, they just didn’t click. And that’s okay too.

There is no hard and fast rule that everyone has to like every blog.  And there’s really no expectation that anyone will read every blog  either.   For goodness sake, there are 100’s of links posted on the website.   Something for everyone, but no one has time for all of them.

Some of these folks have done this challenge in the past, and others, like me, just this year, and some even jumped in at the very last minute.  Kudo’s to you, it took me an anxiety filled afternoon to figure out how to make a button that would link…DUH!

So, if you have a few extra minutes, you might want to pop over to the 31 days website and find some fun reading.

And if you haven’t read this post and made your comment, it’s not too late 🙂  And yes, if you’re reading this post, that means YOU! 🙂

Have a GREAT Friday, Y’all!

signature 3 green

4 thoughts on “31 Day Favorites {Day 17}

  1. Oh, you are so sweet to include me here! And I love that you write y’all! Let me just tell you, if I was Michelle in this video I would have totally gone all fangirl and embarrassed myself. Mercy! I don’t know if I’ll get a chance to read many other series until October is over but I try to check in on some of them when I can. I believe this is just the start of a lovely friendship. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh Kim! I WOULD have totally embarrassed myself, but I’m not sure I would have gone quite that far. It would be SO fun to sing with BARRY! I’ve signed up to receive several by email, then I can chose to read or not read. Some, like the Aldi’s recipes, I can pop over every few days and check out.

      I have made some beautiful friends online, and have even been blessed to meet a few of them in real life.

      Like

  2. IT worked. You see, a good agent doesn’t look like an agent. You don’t believe I am an agent, meaning that maybe I really am an agent. Your mild mannered husband, really a secret agent, you don’t believe it, but who knows!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.