Friends for a Day {Day 28}

31 days blog button 4Yesterday I was a workin’ girl. It was a 1 day assignment with the temp company Shane works for.  We were hired to work for an inventory company, they were hired to do an inventory job at a HUGE plant in Kansas.  It’s a name you’d know if I told you.  In fact, they told us in training that the products they make at that plant goes in some 80% of food items around the world.  At one point, someone used the word chemical…does that scare anyone else a teeny, tiny little bit????

I left home at 4:30am and saw home again at 9pm.  I worked 13 hours.  And I made a little spendin’ money for my Jubilee trip in a couple of weeks.

There were about 35-40 of us from different places, in different walks of life.  But we all joined together to get the job done.  We were counting bags and boxes of who knows what. The old fashioned way, calculator and clipboard.  The warehouse looked something like this.

blog pallets2

Except some of the racks were 4 high and 4 deep.  In one of the areas, everything was on the ground but the pallets were sometimes 7 deep.   Which meant that my partner or I had to skinny slide between pallets to make sure we were counting the right pallets. For those of you that know me, you know that I’m not that “skinny.”

blog palletsMost of the pallets had inventory signs on the front that had numbers we had to check. Then we had to multiply how many boxes by the weight, by the number of pallets.  Some of them didn’t have these nice little signs and we’d have to count the number of boxes or bags on a pallet and then find the label that told us how much the product weighed and multiply it all.

In the main warehouse, Jeremy was our plant partner on the fork lift.

blogforklift

We ended up with the hardest row in the place.  All the plant folks told us so. 4 racks deep, 4 racks high, sometimes 5 different products in the rack, sometimes 3 different products on ONE pallet.   The 3 of us were checking and double checking each other. We were looking at number after number until we were crossed eyed and loopy.  My partner Joe and I had some good, clean FUN!  And why not? It was a long day, easy but tedious work because we wanted to get it right. Early on, the plant contact told my partner that we had done a “perfect” job because we caught something that wasn’t right.  Joe kept talking about how he hadn’t been called perfect in a long time, so I started singing  “Oh Lord it’s hard to be humble…” He joined in, so we were both singing. But we couldn’t leave Jeremy out of the fun. We found out that he was fairly newly married and he had been apart from his wife for several months.  She was coming home yesterday.  Needless to say, work is not where he wanted to be and it became some friendly teasing…”Hey Jeremy, we’re gonna get you outa’ here so you can get home to your wife”…nice guy that he is, he’d get a BIG GRIN and a little red around the ears…I pray that Jeremy and his wife had a wonderful reunion and will have a long happy life together.

Joe’s an interesting character.  He knows a lot about a lot, or maybe he thinks he knows a lot about a lot.  He DOES talk a lot, and he knows it.  He has no filter, and he knows it.  (He told me so).  I heard about his new girlfriend, his jail time, his court date, and the fact that he thinks marijuana should be legal, among other things. He dropped the f-bomb in one sentence while telling me that this was his 3rd life in the next, while quoting Proverbs in the next.

I teased him about knowing why Mark paired us together…because I have 4 children and that qualified me to keep Joe in line.  I told Mark that I did the best I could. And we all laughed.

After we were done with the row from pergatory, we went to the maintenance building and started counting fuses and bulbs, and who knows what all else in tool trays that they use to keep the plant operating. Believe it or not, we ended up with the 2 hardest trays in the maintenance shop too…the folks that worked in the shop told us so.

So, what else were we to do but laugh about it?

It was that or cry…

So I asked the boss if he was buying the Boulevard after work…

It was all in good fun.

At one point, I started coughing and made the comment about needing to cut back on my cigarettes.  I didn’t think this was particularly funny, but it was near the end of the day and it tickled Joe…and the boss came around the corner to see if we had gone bananas…

And when we were all done, and back at the inventory site, the boss found me and told me how much he appreciated having me work for them.  He thanked me for a job well done.

I told him that I had fun, and I hoped he’d call again.

Today, my neck is sore, my feet are a little tired, and my hands are stiff (who’d have thought about holding a clipboard for 13 hours making stiff hands?) so I’m taking it easy.

But I will fondly remember my Friends for a Day.

I pray that I showed fun without crass and rude, without several bottles of Boulevard (or Coors), and without marijuana.

I pray that talking about how wonderful 20 years of marriage to the same man is, touched these guys.

I pray that those whose paths crossed with mine yesterday saw a glimpse of Christ, and that I glorified God with my words and actions.

Have a FUN-filled, Christ honoring Tuesday, Y’all!

signature 3 green

