An Excellent Resource for Bible Study…A Booklook Review

nelson illustrated bible dictionary

Nelson’s illustrated Bible Dictionary is a substancial sized resource text for the Bible scholar and laymen alike. There are over 7000 entries and over 500 beautiful and vibrant pictures on more than 1200 pages. The key words are based on the NKJV but it it is fully cross-referenced to several major translations of the Bible (KJV,NASB, REB, NIV and NRSV). There are printed alphabetical thumb tabs on each page to make it easy to find the word you’re researching.

I appreciate the visual survey of the Bible in the front of the text. It outlines events and dates of Biblical significance that is very helpful to reference when studying the Bible. This section has a timeline, graphs and maps that shows Bibilcal outline in relation to history. For those that would rather have a quick reference, there is also a brightly colored 2 page overview time line at the end of this section. In addition, there is an overview and outine for each book of the Bible and several articles scattered throughout the text. The text also includes several charts, tables and maps on various topics of interest.

I am drawn the the book, just to look at the pictures…which says a lot considering I’m a woman nearing the age of 50 and gave up “picture books” long ago 🙂 The pictures are beautiful and vibrant in color! The text is in larger font and in easy to understand language, but does not compromise content.

I would highly recommend this text for use in personal Bible study, family devotions, and in class or sermon preparation. Since this is a resource text and not mean to be read cover to cover, I explored many topics in the text for this review. I am more of a layman, my husband more of a scholar, we both examined the text and found it useful, interesting and informative The information is comprehensive and appears to be accurate (although, it is written by fallible men, so I suspect we will find minor inaccuracies that would not compromise doctrinal soundness of Scripture as we continue to use it).

As a mother of 4, ages 18-8, I appreciate the fact that difficult subjects, such as Onan’s sin are tastefully dealt with.  Part of the entry says: “He was a wicked man, and the Lord put him to death (Gen. 38:10)” My older’s will know the text or be able to look it up in Scripture, my youngers will get information, but not enough to ask questions that would be hard to explain to young ones.

This is a resource that I can see our family using often in the years to come. I highly recommend it for people that are interested in expanding their knowledge base of Scripture.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

