Five Minute Friday- Give

Five Minute Friday.  If you don’t know what it is, click here to find out.

Ready?  GO!

Thanksgiving day 2014. Earlier today I wrote about how different it was going to be from all the many past years. And how disappointed I was because there would only be 3 extra at our table.

Oh how wrong I was! In addition to Shane’s sweet Aunt and Uncle, who we always enjoy, we were blessed to have a delightful young man join us this year.  One who has been through much pain in his 17 years. And who is now, for the most part, through sad, unfortunate circumstances, is alone in the world.

We had met this young man a few years ago, but did not remember him.  We were reintroduced to him today.

Today, he gave us a gift. The gift of laughter and fun. At times, because of the noise level, I would have guessed that there were well more than 5 kids between the ages of 8 and 18 sitting in various places throughout the day. Playing different games, throwing the football and just being kids.

STOP

I imagine he’d say we gave. And we did. But we received so much in return. Our home was a little less lonely today because this young man was with us and I am so very thankful that he was able to give himself to us today.

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday- Give

  1. What I a great blessing you had today with this man!!! He was a blessing for your family but notice that you were a huge blessing to him also. Good for you!!! God bless you!!! Thank you for share his with us.

    Like

  2. This remind me of a family that took me in for Thanksgiving when I was alone in the world. I had never seen a table so beautiful…filled with amazing food and even more caring, authentic people. So many need more than just full stomachs but open and filled hearts. Your post brought back memories I needed today. Thank you!! Visiting from Five Minute Friday 🙂

    Like

    • I don’t know about a beautiful table, We did use REAL plates, silverware and glasses yesterday though 🙂 My goal is to make everyone who visits our home feel like they’re family. Glad my post encouraged you!

      Like

Comments are closed.