Five Minute Friday – Plan

It’s that time of the week, I’m linking up with Kate again.  If you don’t know the rules, you can find them here.    I have other posts flying around in my head, but no time to write them down.  So for now, I figure 5 minutes on Fridays (or Saturdays) is what I can do.  Some day life will slow down and then I can write some of these other thoughts down.

Go

The best laid plans go astray.  Shane and I only thought we had our life planned out.  Little did we know that 20 plus years ago we’d be where we are now.

We thought we’d have our “own” children, then adopt.  WRONG.  Our adopted children ARE our own children, and we wouldn’t have it any other way.

We thought we’d have a “quiver full” of children.  We’ve come to realize that a quiver full is the exact number of children God wants for your family.  Some folks have a full quiver at one child.  Others 4 children.  And others 7 or 8.  Or 15.  The secret is to trust God for the size of your family. Not to make the size of your family something outrageous to make a point.

We thought we’d be on the mission field, or at least in full-time ministry.  WRONG.  We’ve been in part time ministry through out our married life.  And God has put some interesting people in our path over the years.  God has put ministry in our hearts, so we serve where God plants us.

I’m honestly quite surprised that we have lived in the country for nearly 12 years now.  I LOVE country living, although I sometimes still don’t like being 45 minutes to a hour away from convenience.  I didn’t plan to live in the country.

I wrote back in November about my plans being diverted on my trip to Tennessee.  The biggest take away?  Trusting God to take care of things.  And taking the next step.  That was 2 weeks where I truly didn’t know how I was going to look ahead any farther than the next day.  Sometimes the next hour.

It is nice to plan.  But it is even better to trust the One who makes and ordains all the plans.  When our plans fail.  I can rest in the fact that God’s plan succeeds.

STOP.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Plan

  1. I love this. What you said here especially spoke to me: ” The secret is to trust God for the size of your family. Not to make the size of your family something outrageous to make a point.” I grew up in circles where large families were the norm, and it took some time for me to realize that God’s plan for everyone’s family is different and that I shouldn’t presume to know what it is myself.

    Like

    • Amy, I wasn’t raised with it, but we have known people over the years where it seems that more children = more spiritual. Back in my younger more prideful in that area years, I probably had that mindset too…until we never got pregnant…then I had to examine my beliefs. God bless!

      Like

Leave a Reply

