Chuck Swindoll’s “Abraham”

I really wanted to like this book.  I really did.  I have read other Swindoll books and gotten much out of them.  I enjoy a good biography.  I appreciate the account of Abraham’s life in Scripture and thought I would LOVE this book.   My daughter has read most if not all the books in this series and has gleaned so much from them.  There are so many excellent life lessons in the life of Abraham that I thought I could not lose.  But I did.  I might be one of the few, but after trying several times to get past the first few chapters, I just can’t do it.

Opening it up and flipping through it, I find some excellent statements.  In talking about Hagar, he makes the statement “You need to know that while you feel alone, you are not alone.  God sees you.  He hears your weeping. He will care for you and turn  your sorrow into dancing”…

Maybe it’s the place I’m at in my walk with God right now that keeps me from appreciating Mr. Swindoll’s book right now.  Maybe at some point in my future, I’ll be needing the encouraging words of Mr. Swindoll’s Abraham, but for now, I have to pass.

I received this book free in exchange for my honest review from Tyndale Blog Network, this disclosure is in accordance with FCC regulations.

