A Love/Hate Relationship

The “Proverbs 31 woman”

The most magnificent woman ever.  The epitomy of perfection.  I so longed to be like her, and I so longed to dispise her at the same time.  When I first answered God’s call, I thought she was fabulous, marvelous, and had grand aspirations, then life hit and I knew I could never achieve the “perfect” woman.  I’m too loud, too lazy too angry, too selfish, to not together to really think I could ever attain that.

I remember being at a seminar once on THAT woman and thinking, “there is no way, I DISPISE that woman”  HOW can I (or anyone) ever do THAT?  I can’t believe God calls his women to that much perfections….

So I gave up.

Sorta.

But not really, because I knew God wanted me to be excellent.

proverbs3128

Over the years I have come to realize that this is the MODEL we are to strive for.  Just like we are to strive for excellence in all things, the fruit of the Spirit, we are to put away all “ugly” but truth is, we can’t.  We run toward the prize but we won’t truly attain it until Heaven.  Until we are face to face with Him.

In other words, we give up and let the Holy Spirit work in us.  No, not really give up; but we absorb God’s word, we pray, we put in to practice moment by moment, hour by hour and day by day those things that He longs for us to attain.  And we fail. But when we fail we realize that God’s grace is sufficient and we get up, dust ourselves off, (repent) and begin again.

25 years later.

Am I THAT woman?

Yes and no.

I’m almost but not yet…

And that’s okay.  I’m striving for the goal

Christy signature

I’m linking up with the party over at Kate’s place today.  5 minutes (more or less) free writes on the word she gives us as a prompt.  Today’s word was “rise”  Click on the link to join the fun.

2 thoughts on “A Love/Hate Relationship

  1. Over the years I too have come to love her. Do I obtain that level all the time? No… but there is grace in it all! 🙂 Thanks for sharing these words with us! (Your neighbor at #fmf) Have a happy Friday!

    Like

    • I’m still not sure I’d go as far to say I “love” her, lol; I WANT to love her but she’s so stinkin’ perfect that I sometimes have a hard time getting past it. (Kind of like that person on FB or the “perfect blogger”) But, I definitely have a respect for her that I didn’t have in my younger Christian days. Thanks for stopping by! Have a great day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

