This is Your Captain Speaking

Almost anyone that grew up in the 1970’s knows EXACTLY who spoke those words.  I grew up watching “The Love Boat”  even just typing that brings back the theme song to my head…exciting and new…come aboard, they’re expecting you…

When I saw Gavin MacLeod’s book written with Mark Dagostino, I had to request it.  YES, I had to.  I have been watching Mr. MacLeod for a lot of years, not just as a dreamy teenager watching “The Love Boat,” but also in old movies, Mary Tyler Moore reruns, and more recently, the  “Johnathon Sperry” movie.

This was a (mostly) interesting, easy to read biography. Reading through the pages brought  Mr. MacLeod’s voice to the front of my mind. The book is written as Mr. MacLeod speaks, in a gentle, soothing manner that makes you feel like your in a private little group visiting with him face to face instead of reading black ink on the pages a book.  There are a few moments of lull within the pages, but overall it was fun to read about his life adventures before the cruise ship, during the cruise ship and after the cruise ship.  I will say that it seems the author rarely meets anyone he doesn’t like (except Bette Davis) and he could have used some different adjectives to describe the awe some-ness of various actors/actresses he met over the years.

Mr. MacLeod shares stories about meeting the great actors and actresses of the day.  Those he looked up to and admired, including a couple of former Presidents and some that he eventually got to share the stage with.  He speaks of these meetings as any common man would speak of them; he seemsawed by their stardom quality.  And he seems amazed when people are excited to meet him. This man’s true humility shines through the pages of the book.  He  is honest about the mistakes he made in his personal life, the struggles he had through the years and is very candid about the transformation God made to his life several years ago.

I was disappointed that there are not any pictures.  Usually, in a book like this, there are cutsie pictures of the young chap, family and behind the scene career snapshots that are sadly left out of this book.

I would recommend this for some fun, take you back summer reading.

Christy signature

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

