Where the Sun Rises and the Rain Falls

“You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.  If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that? Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.  Matt 5:43-48 niv

The sun doesn’t discriminate on where it shines.  When daylight comes, it shines on every house, every person.  The rain falls on everyone.  It does not pick and choose where it falls.  It falls on those that are saved, it falls on those who are damned.  I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately.  For those of you that didn’t hear,

Barry Manilow got “married”  Yes.  He “married” his male manager.   As much as I’ve always LOVED his music.  As much as I enjoyed the concert Shane surprised me with a few months ago.  After I heard the news, I just couldn’t listen to his music. It turned my stomach.  But then I got to thinkin’  I buy groceries at a store where those that work there may not share my beliefs.  I frequent restaurants that I’m pretty sure supports causes I don’t.  I eat with sinners every day.  My family puts up with me and MY sin every day, and they love me in spite of it.  And I love them in spite of their sin.

But really, God gives the gifts to whom he chooses.  He has given the gift of singing to those that know him and to those that don’t know him.  He has given many gifts to those that know and those that don’t know him.  No one’s sin is better or worse than anyone else’s.  Different, but not better or worse.  They ALL sent Christ to the tree.

I can appreciate the ability God has given to those that are saved, and those that are unsaved.  Whether their gifts be song, dance, theater, cooking an excellent meal, car repair, etc.

His gits have been sent to the righteous and the unrighteous.  If he sent them, shouldn’t we appreciate them for what they are?

I’m linking up with Kate at Five Minute Friday; want to join me?

P.S.  I just got Barry’s latest CD from the library.  My Dream Duets  What a FUN CD!

One thought on “Where the Sun Rises and the Rain Falls

  1. I share and agree with your thoughts. Truth is truth regardless of the source spouting it. And God gives gift to men – all men – all people. It is then their choice whether they acknowledge the source of their gifts. We, though, can always appreciate and give glory to God who is the giver of all gifts. Thanks so much for sharing these thoughts. It is something we all need to consider and work through in our hearts.
    *an FMF neighbor stopping by from
    http://pursuinggrace.com/the-gift-of-gratitude/

    Like

Comments are closed.