What a Wonderful World

It’s easy to forget sometimes that we live in a wonderful world!

horn creek

Tomorrow will come.  Babies will be born.  Life will continue as it has for millenia.  The world will always have problems, because sin entered the world.  We are long past the days of Eden.  We can expect that the farther away folks get from the Creator, the worse things will be. Wars have come and gone and they will continue until Christ returns.  Homosexuality was once considered deviant behavior, now it is to be accepted. The institution of marriage has been exchanged for shacking up.  Murder is rampant, thievery abounds…we have the poor, we will always have the poor and needy.  And the list goes on and on and on… Sometimes it’s easy to forget…

This song reminds me that God is still on the throne. Always. Until the end of the age.

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Louis Armstrong’s gravelly voice. I think he was meant to sing this song, and he can sing it as no one else can.  It was released in 1967.   According to Wikkipedia,  it was “Intended as an antidote for the increasingly racially and politically charged climate of everyday life in the United States, the song also has a hopeful, optimistic tone with regard to the future, with reference to babies being born into the world and having much to look forward to.” We may not be in the midst of a war, but don’t we need a little  optimism about now?

I see trees of green, red roses too
I see them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue and clouds of white
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people going by
I see friends shaking hands saying how do you do
But they’re really saying I love you.

I hear baby’s crying and I watched them grow
They’ll learn much more than I’ll ever know
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.
Yes, I think to myself what a wonderful world.

And we are reminded that it IS a wonderful world!

Christy signature

I’m linking up with Kate today at FMF.  The goal is to get folks writing.  The rules are simple. 5 minutes of free writes on the world Kate gives us each Friday.  Don’t have a blog, that’s ok.  You can post your 5 minutes in the comments, OR, you could start your own blog…

3 thoughts on “What a Wonderful World

  1. I love that song. God did create a wonderful world. Stopping by from Five Minute Friday. I see we have homeschooling in common! Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

